Cyanogenmod profile update?


Last Updated:

  1. Arty

    Arty Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    I need to reprogram the user profile on my Sprint Hero, and I'm running Cyanogenmod 6.0.0


    Is there any way to do so without having to flash everything?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Arty

    Arty Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    No one?
     
  3. chawski

    chawski Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    36
    i think you are going to have to go back to your original nandroid of the stock ui, update your profile through that, and then flash back to your current update
     
    Arty likes this.
  4. andygu3

    andygu3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    2,081
    Nandroid first. Then I think you can update profile by flashing over to fresh, then nandroid back to CM6
     
    Arty likes this.
  5. Arty

    Arty Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wow... that's a royal and absolute pain in the neck. I may just switch back to Fresh full time.


    Thanks a lot for the help, guys!
     
  6. andygu3

    andygu3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    2,081
    This is also the only way to update PRL also;)

    Not really a pain though, once you nandroid, flash over to fresh, and once your done updating PRL and Profile, make a nandroid of fresh. Then if you need to update again, nandroid back to fresh at a later date;)
     
  7. jcj77d

    jcj77d Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    5
    so if i have a nandroid of my stock/rooted 2.1, i can restore the nandroid by wiping cache/davilk, then update my PRL & PROFILE, then do another nandroid of the 2.1, then wipe cache again, & nandroid back the CM6?

    is that correct?
     
  8. andygu3

    andygu3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    2,081
    This how I updated my PRL a couple of weeks ago (I believe it was 60667).

    Made a nandroid of the CM6
    Downloaded and flashed Fresh 2.4.0
    Set up my phone in Fresh, ie: google account
    Updated my PRL to 60670
    Then did a nandroid restore back to CM6

    My PRL was updated on CM6 and since I do not have a lot of space on my card, I did not nandroid fresh
     
    jcj77d likes this.
  9. Arty

    Arty Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    See, I think that's just a pain, man. I just flashed back to Fresh. Worked like a dream.

    Thanks again for the help... I'm just not sure CM is worth it.
     
  10. andygu3

    andygu3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4,699
    Likes Received:
    2,081
    No worries, we are all here to help;)
     
  11. jonwilliams806

    jonwilliams806 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yeah I'm running CM7 and wondering the same thing. I love the customization options and the ability to toggle mobile data on CM7, GREATLY improves battery life and with controlling over/under clocking, I also don't lose performance. But if this PRL thing happens once a week, I just don't think it would be worth it, I'll buy a second battery and stay stock ROM. Any senior people been rooted and running custom ROM CM6 or CM7 and can tell me how often this happens? I can deal with once a month, not once a week...Updating profile that is.
     
  12. DonB

    DonB ♡ Spidey Sense !! ♡ ™ Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,275
    Likes Received:
    7,881
    PRL are sometimes updated weekly, and sometimes not for months, depends on Sprint when they update their towers. That should not be an issue, you simply create a Nandroid back up, and then restore your stock rom, then update your PRL, and then restore your current CM7. Some don't update the PRL for months, so it is not a biggie, don't sweat it



     
  13. LBPHeretic

    LBPHeretic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,368
    Likes Received:
    507
    You could toggle mobile data on the stock Android 2.1 with Sense UI ROM too. If you pressed and held the power button, a menu popped up that let you, or you could just put the mobile data widget on one of your home screens.

    The PRL and Profile updates are not that often. Usually less than once a month.
     
  14. chawski

    chawski Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    36
    im lucky if i update my prl more than once every 3 months. I actually havnt updated it since CM7 stable came available, and i have no problems connecting. Its really not as big a deal as you make it
     

Share This Page

Loading...