D2 Global battery problem right out of the gatesSupport


Last Updated:

  1. drew3739

    drew3739 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    6
    So I got the new global yesterday. As always it takes a few hours of messing around and playing with. Let me tell you this phone runs HOT. Even when I give it a break for 10-15 minutes if I start to use it for more than 10 minutes it is pretty hot to the touch.

    Not sure if thats a processor thing. Any D2 guys overclocked that can relate? Which coincidently I also have a battery problem. Not just a crappy battery but an actual problem. Left it charging overnight and when I woke up it was still at 40%. Looked at en email or two, opened google maps to check traffic (which pulls GPS) and before you know it, like 25%.

    I called Verizon this morning and they will be sending me a new battery first so we'll see if that helps. But I hope that little overclock they did for better press doesn't give me worse battery than my old incredible. (which was pretty bad).
     

    Advertisement
  2. colnago

    colnago Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3,091
    Likes Received:
    218
    Is the GSM radio enabled? If so, it could be using energy to find a tower. My fully charged D1 would drain completely in about 4 hours at my mom's house where it gets little to no signal...which is about 1.5/2 miles from (2) different Verizon stores.
     
  3. drew3739

    drew3739 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    6
    Where am I looking for this?
     
  4. colnago

    colnago Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3,091
    Likes Received:
    218
    Settings -> Radios ?

    "Manage SIM Card"?

    [​IMG]
     
  5. marckatz

    marckatz Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    It has to do with the network settings. Go to menu-settings-wireless & networks-mobile network-netwok mode. Take it off Global and put it on CDMA (if you are in the States on Verizon Network). My battery was going down 10-15% every hour just sitting without doing anything (much more if I tried to go on browser or download apps). I switched it, have been running 8 hours and my battery is still at 83% even though I have done several things on my phone today. I had the same problem when I had a BB World Phone. Seems that the radio in the phone is constantly looking for the global network and eating up the battery.
     
  6. MrThor

    MrThor New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the info marckatz. Both my wife and I upgraded from the BB Storm 2 to the DG2. We love the phone but not the poor battery life. I have just taken your advice and hope this works. We were only getting 7 hours out of our phones and were used to 3 times that on the BBS. Will update how it works in several day.

    Thor
     

Share This Page

Loading...