Damn Screen LocksGeneral


Last Updated:

  1. ralber

    ralber Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    The hardest button to push on my G1 is the little recessed Menu button. By far. But I have to press that button about every 5 seconds when using the phone because the screen locks all the time and that's the only button that will clear the lock. What a design.

    So, does anybody know

    1. How I might teach my phone to lock the screen after 10 seconds of non-activity instead of 4 seconds?, or
    2. Enable another button to unlock the screen?, or
    3. Do the right thing and teach my phone to only lock the screen when its accelerometer tells it that the phone is in a vertical position (i.e. being held against the ear) like the iPhone does?

    Thanks!

    --------- Rick
     

    Advertisement
  2. obisununome

    obisununome Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry Rick, as of right now we have to deal with it.
     
  3. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210
    from Home screen press "MENU"
    Select "SETTINGS"
    Select "Sound & display"
    Scroll all the way to the bottom of the list of options
    Select "Screen TimeOut"
    Select "Never Timeout"
    then to lock the screen any time you want to ...by pressing "HangUp" button
     
  4. obisununome

    obisununome Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  5. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210
     
  6. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210
    I think if a call comes in while the phone is locked ... it unlocks when you answer... then relocks so accidental screen touches by your face doesnt do anything (Desired Feature)

    if you push the home button if will allow you access to all the phones feature ...
    you could also first press MENU then SpeakerPhone , then Home, do the Dialer ... and enter all the bank codes you want ...
     
  7. dsmithjr

    dsmithjr Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    The app Power Manager has a way to change the lock setting when your on a phone call. I can't remember what the times are but I know you can keep it from locking while making a phone call for up to 2 minutes.
     
  8. obisununome

    obisununome Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks, I cant stand that lock screen you literally have like 5 secs.
     

Share This Page

Loading...