Dashes in Telephone NumberSupport


Last Updated:

  1. Calkacky

    Calkacky Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    1
    Is there a way to make my phone add the dashes that normally show up when you put in a phone number. I just get a list of numbers with no dashes or no spaces and it is very hard to tell if I mistyped the number.

    Thanks!
     

    Advertisement
  2. joetarin

    joetarin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    1
    i doubt there would be an option for this. The logic would be too difficult as not all numbers have the dashes in the same spot (i.e. international numbers)
     
  3. mj_b90

    mj_b90 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    20
    It's a feature that's pretty common even in old dumb phones, so I'm positive that's not an issue :p

    There are lots of other dialer apps in the market but I've never tried one myself. One might have this already.
     
  4. joey3002

    joey3002 Guest

    please post if you make any progress with this..

    thanks
     
  5. hallstevenson

    hallstevenson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    791
    Likes Received:
    26
    Often times, the "old dumb phones" were unique to a region, i.e. North America, where the assumption of the phone number format was known. Android phones aren't region-specific so the same assumptions can't be made.
     
  6. odaxium

    odaxium Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    1
    It's really not that hard to add the dashes

    [edit] i should rephrase that. it shouldn't be that hard to add the dashes, i haven't found an option to add them
     
  7. rickyroma

    rickyroma Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm looking for a way to get rid of the dashes.
     
  8. hallstevenson

    hallstevenson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    791
    Likes Received:
    26
    Presuming you use Google Contacts, export your contact list to CSV. Open the spreadsheet and tell the spreadsheet to replace "-" with "" in that column only. Save and import back into Google Contacts.
     
  9. Kaessa

    Kaessa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    654
    Likes Received:
    222
    Try "Contacts Clean-up" from the market. Make ALL of your numbers in your contact list the same (add or remove dashes or dots).
     
  10. dinym

    dinym Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    2
    If you want to have NO dashes, select : Settings > Language and keyboard > Select Language > English (United Kingdom) or English (Philippines). To ADD dashes to phone number format : English (United States).
     
  11. vecon

    vecon New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks so much, this is something you never thought that can remove the dash. Other people are using ATT version Galaxy Note in the States don't have dashes in their phone number. This is so unbelievable and I am glad I found your post. Thanks so much!

    But I am still having problem sending MMS from my Galaxy Note (unlocked) using tmobile SIM card. No problem with sms.
     

Share This Page

Loading...