Data connection drops. All the time. Anyone else?Support


Last Updated:

  1. tkolgen

    tkolgen New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm new to this website and I've been ready some of the threads on here and this issue has been brought up a couple times but it's not as big of an issue I thought it would be. I've had my Maxx since Nov and I went thru 7 phones so far all with the same issue. The phone switches from 4G to 3G loses data back and forth constantly. I have had this issue with all 7 phones so when I read that some people don't have this issue I wonder If they just don't realize they do or is it they really don't.

    I love this phone but the connection on it is terrible and is a major issue for me. Anyone have any idea's how to help out?
     

    Advertisement
  2. dragonsamus

    dragonsamus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    21
    I've had my Maxx since February. I get data drops only when I'm at work but that's because I'm in a thick office building. I don't ever notice data drops at home where I get really good 4G service. Where do you notice the data drops?
     
  3. mauiblue

    mauiblue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    18
    I noticed when I've got Smart Actions "Battery Extender" running, it will disable background sync and when the wakes up it may take a few seconds before I get a data connection. It isn't too much of a hassle but noticeable.
     
  4. shelland

    shelland Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    18
    I lose data, often several times per day. I've never noticed any specifics around location - doesn't seem to matter where I am. Most of the time I'll have "white bars", which from everything I've read indicates that it is actually available. My wife has a Maxx too, and I can normally check hers at the time and it will work fine. She loses data too, but it doesn't seem to be nearly as often as mine.
     
  5. Darkman265

    Darkman265 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I experience the same this just not as often. I notice it more between hand offs with 4g and 3g.
     
  6. Grecho

    Grecho Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    4
    Mine does this too, very often, my wife has the razr and hers hardly ever drops, usually when mine does i'll look over at hers and see that its fine.

    I am currently testing to see if it was my case, I was using the otterbox commuter, so far, it looks as though it was actually caused by the case, but im only half way through day 1. My wife is using the verizon gel case.

    I called Verizon and they checked my coverage area, and couple other things, and she said she is seeing no reason that i should be losing data so often. I asked if it was maybe caused by the case, and before i even said that i had the otter box the rep said that they were using the otterbox and they noticed many data drops when they were using it also.

    Are you using a case?
     
  7. shelland

    shelland Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    18
    My wife and I both have Cruzer Lite cases.
     
  8. jamielov

    jamielov Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    6
    Funny...today is my 2 week anniversary of having the phone...and for the first time today...I could not get data/email/Web/texts unless I switched to 4g. In the same spot I could not get 3g the 4g worked. I did about 5 resets and could not understand why today only I was having these problems
     
  9. Grecho

    Grecho Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    4
    Fail!,,, lost data many times yesterday after i wrote this, GRRR!! Starting to get irritated with this phone.
     
  10. breynolds007

    breynolds007 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    63
    Have you tried Motorola's Restore Connectivity app?
    https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.motorola.android.restoreapn.droidrazr
     
  11. carracerz14

    carracerz14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Messages:
    1,154
    Likes Received:
    176
    Never had a data drop. Coming from the nexus this is an amazing thing!
     
    BaadAndy likes this.
  12. TJS_03

    TJS_03 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Have had quite a few data drops!

    All different locations... I would not say it happens all the time, but def more than it should!
     
  13. ebdozit

    ebdozit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    7
    I had very frustrating connection issues. Somebody suggested that I get a new sd card and sim card which I did. No more issues for me.
     
  14. jamielov

    jamielov Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    6
    Its gotten worse. I even removed the two battery saver aps. I can get a text and try to respond seconds later and it just keeps failing. This is with 4g and 3-4 blue bars. If ics doesn't fix this...I don't know what im gonna do. Happening more and more lately
     
  15. cbreze

    cbreze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    425
    Likes Received:
    28
    just a thought, but you could go into data manager and see if it is roaming enabled or not. whatever it is change it to the other. ya never know could help, seems to have helped mine hold signal better.
     
  16. jamielov

    jamielov Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    6
    Looks like I have data roaming disabled. If I stay in the US and it goes to data roaming...would I be charged extra fees? I always worry about being charged for extra things...like those people who go on vacation and get those huge roaming bills
     
  17. cbreze

    cbreze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    425
    Likes Received:
    28
    It's fine for the U. S.
     
  18. gloriousnumber1

    gloriousnumber1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    763
    Likes Received:
    52
    I've been seeing this happen my SECOND day with this. I have also noticed that Facebook will say there is no connection, but anything else internet related works, as well as speed test proving my connection is solid. I dumped Facebook, it should help.

    On my Rezound, Facebook also screwed things up, and the only way it was better was when I uninstalled all updates to that app, but since this phone didn't have it built in, I am required to download the newest version.

    I soft reset after uninstalling it, hopefully no more data or voice coverage drops.
     
  19. gloriousnumber1

    gloriousnumber1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    763
    Likes Received:
    52
    One of the instances where I lost data, my phone said "No Sim Card" I wonder if I should get it replaced. I uninstalled Skype and Text plus, thinking those two apps both installed and possibly somehow running in the background could cause that problem. If it loses data again in an area with good coverage and it's not an outage, I'm going back in to Verizon.
     
    jroc likes this.
  20. shelland

    shelland Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    18
  21. JRJ

    JRJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    16
    My Maxx has always had geat service and then about a month ago I started seeing data drops and had tried all the usual things to find the problem. Finally I called Verizon to get a refurb and was taliking to their tier 2 tech support and they said I should try a new 4G SIM card first. That fixed the problem I no longer have data drops. I was told by Verizon that for some reason the 4G PRL list is not updateing automatically like it is suppossed to and that the only way to make the list update is install a new 4G SIM card since this forces the phone to reactivate. My PRL was 15109 and now is 15142
     
    jroc likes this.
  22. bixler777

    bixler777 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    8
    what is "PRL"?

    and i too have had MANY 'drops' in the past week. the phone worked perfectly for the first two weeks i had it, but this past week has started dropping off the network randomly, and now (yesterday/today) does it seemingly every other time i use it.

    NOT good.
     
  23. 94lt1

    94lt1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    6
    Try this people..

    power down your device. Remove the simcard, be careful with the sim, (that little sticker is delicate) power back up. You'll see a notification saying no simcard. Power down.
    Replace the simcard (carefully), power back up.

    This is called reseating the sim.. it should help, if you install your sim incorrectly it WILL get fried... try not to do this :)
     
    Der Juicen likes this.
  24. WizeGuyDezignz

    WizeGuyDezignz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    850
    Likes Received:
    180
    Me too. I have only had the phone for 5 days, I bought it from someone locally. Since I've had it I have had drops while at work where reception isn't that great to begin with.

    But today has been embarrassingly bad. I can't do anything with data to save my life today. My recently departed Rezound never had this issue here at work. Like I said, I don't have great reception here but at least the Rezound got something.

    If this doesn't clear up within the next week I think I am going to dump this phone and get something else.
     
  25. bixler777

    bixler777 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    8
    well, i'm wondering IF something is happening with Verizon, inasmuch as several of us are having this problem?

    again, this phone worked PERFECTLY for the first two weeks i had it, and now it's having a helluva time getting a network connection....and keeping it.

    does anyone know if Verizon's having 'trouble' here out West? (lol)
     

Share This Page

Loading...