Data Connection gone...arrrghhh!!Support


Last Updated:

  1. wetherb67

    wetherb67 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    1
    Man, what a mess.

    I have a Droid Incredible. Working fine, suddenly this am, after a phone reset, the data no longer worked. Phone and texting are fine. Under settings > wireless and networks > Mobile network it is dark grey, and says "Turning on"..... over and over.

    Spent 45 minutes with tech support. Nothing. Did 2 factory resets, checked the network settings in the phone, checked the settings on their end, nothing worked.

    So, they say, we will need to replace your phone. Then, we have no Incredibles in stock. :eek: So, they call my local store, who also has none in stock of course. So they say they may be getting some in tonight or tomorrow, supposedly they are going to call me tomorrow and give me an update. I wonder if anyone else has had data issues requiring phone replacement? I guess since I talked to VZW there's nothing else that I could check on the phone.

    [​IMG]

    Uploaded with ImageShack.us
    [​IMG][​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     

    Advertisement
  2. wayrad

    wayrad Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,177
    Likes Received:
    148
    Did you try going into airplane mode and back to data?
     
    the_animal99 likes this.
  3. wetherb67

    wetherb67 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    1
    Oh yeah.....many many times along with many battery pulls :p
     
  4. the_animal99

    the_animal99 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    6
    NM. Going into airplane mode and back out fixed it in mine.
     
  5. wetherb67

    wetherb67 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hmmm....well that was my reason for posting...in case there were others having a similar problem.

    I don't know....I've checked it off and on all day...and VZW said nothing about an outage or any problems in my area. And I've traveled around town among many towers. :confused:
     
  6. wetherb67

    wetherb67 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    1
    OK, this is weird.

    I have a blackberry that i keep for a backup. Just for the heck of it i went online and changed to that phone for a few hours.

    Just now changed back to the Incredible and BOOM. 3g is up.

    I'm almost afraid to turn it off.

    I'll keep updating.

    JUST RESTARTED and 3g is still working. Keeping fingers crossed.
     
  7. Mr. Incredible

    Mr. Incredible Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    11
    Happens to me.
    Once it was just out for a day. Magically reappeared.
    Usually Airplane mode -> uncheck mobile Network -> airplane mode off. -> mobile Network on will do the trick when airplane mode alone won't.
     
  8. A.Nonymous

    A.Nonymous Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    7,061
    Likes Received:
    965
    What I found with the airplane mode thing is that you had to go into the wireless settings and toggle airplane mode there. Holding down the power button and picking airplane mode didn't work. I also found that if I simply turned the phone off and back on it fixed it, but the next reboot broke it again. VZW had no clue. I ended up rooting the phone, flashing a different radio and it fixed the problem.
     
  9. ctc

    ctc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    30
    Same thing as the OP is happening to me intermittently today. I just tried turning airplane mode on and off from Wireless Settings and now mobile network keeps "turning on". It has happened to me in 2 different locations today. I can make phone calls but no data at all even with 2-3 bars. It doesn't say 3G or 1X next to the signal meter. It is just blank (aside from the 2-3 bars).


    EDIT: Did a *228 option 1 to program phone. After reboot I have data again. Not sure if it was the *228 or just the reboot that fixed it.
     
  10. A.Nonymous

    A.Nonymous Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    7,061
    Likes Received:
    965
    Most likely the reboot, but all you'd have to do is reboot again to find out.
     
  11. wetherb67

    wetherb67 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    1
    Just to update....

    Since I put the Incredible back on my account, I have had absolutely no issues with 3g data service. I restarted several times and it has come back immediately with no problems.

    What was wrong, I don't know....but I am thinking it was something to do with provisioning on VZW's end.

    Just glad it's working. :D
     

Share This Page

Loading...