1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

Data dropsSupport


Last Updated:

  1. Droidianslip

    Droidianslip Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    I drove around the hood a little while ago, getting close to the local towers, never did I get a single better than -90dbm and that was the freeway over pass direct line of site to my local tower. I'll repeat the drive next week to see what I get
     

    Advertisement
  2. ofHATEandENVY

    ofHATEandENVY Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2012
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    8
    Same. No problems. Let me ask you this...

    Does it happen everywhere or just in a particular place?


    and by a particular place I mean further than 5 miles away then where you're currently located ?
     
  3. Droidianslip

    Droidianslip Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    I work at home so most of my experience is from home. I have experienced it in other areas as well that were more than 5 miles away, but still in the metro area.
     
  4. MrB206

    MrB206 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Messages:
    1,879
    Likes Received:
    254
    Then it's likely the tower by your house and the towers you hit when you get encountered the problem. I have that problem whenever I'm hitting a leased tower, other than a vz tower. I'd be willing to bet the same is the case for you.
     
  5. Droidianslip

    Droidianslip Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    Have the replacement in hand and it gets about the same meter reading as far as signal strength, but so far no data drops. Next couple days will really tell though. ICS is nice and the phone is very snappy, hope you guys get ICS soon
     
  6. MrB206

    MrB206 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Messages:
    1,879
    Likes Received:
    254
    You have a replacement what.... Spectrum with ICS preloaded?
     
  7. artcwolf

    artcwolf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    9
    They gave him a driod razr
     
  8. death2all110

    death2all110 VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,995
    Likes Received:
    1,208
    Dude, the droid razr has a far superior radio, we told you this. So of course its going to perform better.
     
  9. MrB206

    MrB206 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Messages:
    1,879
    Likes Received:
    254
    Lol yea... I know I specifically said so. My wife's razr has far superior reception and speed than my phone. I have a feeling, even when we get ics, her phone will still be better reception.
     
  10. death2all110

    death2all110 VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,995
    Likes Received:
    1,208
    The only reason I didnt get the razr was the locked bootloader. otherwise i think it trumped the GNex since its not a real nexus anymore (but apparently google is trying)
     
  11. MrB206

    MrB206 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Messages:
    1,879
    Likes Received:
    254
    Ditto. I had high hopes that an unlocked bootloader would get more devs to but the spec, but I think the difficulty of romming kept some away.

    I never minded the locked bootloader on motos... Bootstrapping is easy enough and you always have access to the stock recovery with that phone, which we can't say. If the ICS update doesn't resolve some of the issues I've had, I'll end up getting the razr.

    And you're right about the gnex... Google is only supporting the gsm models, so other than an an easy to unlock bootloader, there's no appeal for me.
     
  12. stef7

    stef7 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,066
    Likes Received:
    135
    RAZRs have had their own issues. You sure you'd want a RAZR over a Spectrum? Not I.:ahhhhh:
     
  13. MrB206

    MrB206 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Messages:
    1,879
    Likes Received:
    254
    It all depends on what's more important to you. The spectrum only has the unlocked bootloader over the razr (any hardware difference is hardly noticeable in side by side testing) and a lot of good that's done us in the last 6 months. But the razr has a documented superior radio so better reception.

    It also has 10 roms or so already INCLUDING cm10... We can't even get cm7 to boot... So yea, at this point, barring any miracle the stock update to 4.0 clears up the development issues and glitches, the razr is a better choice for me. Not to mention my wife's phone doesn't overheat and reboot when it's warm out and we're using Google nav, like mine occasionally does. Nothing is more irritating than having to pull over and wait 5 minutes to reload because I suddenly lose my navigation.
     
  14. hollywoods14

    hollywoods14 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    Messages:
    889
    Likes Received:
    121
    whatever happened to maps? lmao
     
  15. MrB206

    MrB206 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Messages:
    1,879
    Likes Received:
    254
    Lol what is this, 1990?
     
  16. Droidianslip

    Droidianslip Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    The NAV thing drove me nuts with my old Charge. When I first got it the GPS would never lock I could drive to my destination and never get to turn by turn. My OG Droid, would acquire GPS lock in the house and was telling me what to do before I could get out of the house. My Razr did that last night to - I was shocked a phone that works - WOW simple things in life.

    last night I had to use Google search a bunch to (trying to rescue an injured Coopers Hawk), on both the Charge and Spec I would have been swearing at the phone after a couple minutes of lost connections. The Razr didn't even have a hiccup never lost signal and flashed up web sites like 4g should. MY OG Droid, just worked.

    It was a little slow especially the 3g, so when I upgraded 4g was important. It was amazing how much on that phone was flat broken when I got it. GPS didn't work Blue Tooth Streaming didn't work, calls sounded like crap. I had to learn how to root and install custom ROMS just to make the darn phone work. I flat hated that phone. I liked the Spec, but the data just didn't work. The Razr just flat works. It does what I tell it to RIGHT NOW. I actually like my phone again after a year and 1/2. Would I trade it for a Nexus, no. Great software development, but the same old Samsung problems, lousy radios and firmware, great dev network, but a phone has to be a phone.

    So far so good and like I said earlier I hope you guys get 4.0 soon
     
  17. MrB206

    MrB206 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Messages:
    1,879
    Likes Received:
    254
    I never encountered the nav issue with my DROID 2,og DROID or my wife's old DROID x... Truth be told, by DROID 2 global was probably my best performer yet. Be Sufficed to say it didn't make my impression of the spec any better. Lol
     
  18. finndo77

    finndo77 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    860
    Likes Received:
    107
    I still have a map from every state I've ever driven in, in the pouch on the back of the front passenger seat in my car.
     
  19. Droidianslip

    Droidianslip Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hum, notice anything about the models you are talking about? They are all Motorola!
     
  20. MrB206

    MrB206 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Messages:
    1,879
    Likes Received:
    254
    Lol. Yea. I'm not a Moto fan boy, but I never had the issues my friends with other phones had and I've never had anything ulbut positive experience with them. I miss my keyboard on my droid... I thought about getting the droid 4, but the razr kicks its ass, so if I got any Moto, that'd be the one.
     
  21. IMUcarmen

    IMUcarmen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,720
    Likes Received:
    350
    I don't have issues with data or GPS on my spec. And I live in the country surrounded by trees.

    But there is no doubt the razr has a better radio. Though None of these modern phones have the radios phones from ten years ago did. I remember one Motorola phone from about ten years ago that was actually pulled off the market because it was giving people headaches it had such a strong radio signal. My mother's husband had one and when they recalled it he hated his new phone because it didn't pick up anywhere near as good as the other did.
     
  22. MrB206

    MrB206 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Messages:
    1,879
    Likes Received:
    254
    I miss the old startac from Moto.... That thing was a beast.
     
  23. admn81

    admn81 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    641
    Likes Received:
    150
    If you care about the display dont get the d4. I had that before the spec and the qhd display blows. The ghosting on that is so so noticeable if you are for example scrolling thru a playlist on poweramp etc, but the keyboard is the best one out there, granted theres not a lot of other options lol. But like everyone else has said the radios on the motorola's kill our spec's as the voice quality and reception is way better.
     
  24. MrB206

    MrB206 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Messages:
    1,879
    Likes Received:
    254
    Isn't it the same size as the d2 and d3? Whenever I play with my d2,it seems like a midget compared to my spec. Lol
     
  25. finndo77

    finndo77 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    860
    Likes Received:
    107
    My wife has the d4, won't use a phone without a kb. Funny, as she never learned how to type. I can't stand the display, I think my HTC Evo had a better display. :p
     

Share This Page

Loading...