Data Plans?General


Last Updated:

  1. jfoey22

    jfoey22 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    529
    Likes Received:
    149
    Sorry if this has been asked, but can somebody explain the difference in the data plans ($30.00 plan vs $40.00 plan) for the Inc? I thought the difference was the ability to sync with Exchange, but I have the $30.00 plan and it is doing this.

    Does the Sense UI bypass the need for the $40.00 plan?
     

    Advertisement
  2. elrabin

    elrabin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    50
    If you are hooking into corporate email via Exchange, you supposedly need the higher priced plan.

    However, many are reporting this is not needed and are happily paying the $30/mo plan while using exchange.
     
  3. jfoey22

    jfoey22 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    529
    Likes Received:
    149
    Yeah, that is my case. I have the $30.00 plan and sync just fine with Exchange w/o the need for a 3rd party app like touchdown. I just wonder if there are additional features that I am missing but I haven't noticed anything yet?
     
  4. elrabin

    elrabin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    50
    I could be wrong, but I believe that HTC's implementation of Exchange functionality directly into Sense is bypassing Verizon's normal checks to see if Exchange email is being used.

    On a blackberry, there is a whole distinct setup instruction for Exchange and Verizon can detect this because of you having to tie back to RIM's servers/software for BES.

    On the Droid Incredible I believe since Exchange integration is just another app, pushing in/out over the normal data stream, there isn't any way that Verizon can tell you're doing it.
     
  5. thrillerbee

    thrillerbee Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    4
    If you plan on using Good Server to connect to Exchange, Good will send you a nastygram telling you you'll have to sign up for the "business" data plan. Complete garbage...

     
  6. jfoey22

    jfoey22 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    529
    Likes Received:
    149
    What is "Good Server"?
     
  7. elrabin

    elrabin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    50
    Good server basically acts as a "go between" server/service to bridge smartphones that can't natively support exchange or components of exchange to corporate email.

    Good Technology

    Take phones like the Nexus One, Iphone or Palm Treos, they don't have 100% compliance for Exchange support.

    Good server acts as a gobetween and enforces security policy, encryption, remote wipe ability, etc for Exchange email users on those devices.

    Blackberries require Blackberry Enterprise Server(BES) to do this.

    The Droid Incredible has NATIVE Exchange support including security profiles and remote wipe.

    No need for a secondary server or service for us DI users :)
     
    jfoey22 likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...