Data Roaming and Data TrafficSupport


Last Updated:

  1. DomtaR

    DomtaR Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    With the 2.1 upgrade, I have a little question about mobile network settings.

    I do not have 3G and do not have a monthly data plan. In 1.6, all I had to do was tick off "data roaming" in the Mobile Network Settings to make sure I do not ever connect to the 3G network.

    In 2.1, there are "Data Roaming" and "Data Traffic". If I were to tick off "Data Roaming", would that mean that the "Data Traffic" is no longer in use either, even if its ticked on? I do not want to tick off the "Data Traffic" option because it leaves a huge ugly picture on the notification bar =/

    Any help would be greatly appreciated, as I do not want an abundance phone bill due to this!
     

    Advertisement
  2. JDwan

    JDwan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    24
    Just tick off Data Traffic and that will stop all data transmissions. Data Roaming was turned off by default on my phone while Data Traffic was turned on by default after the update. Hope this helps!
     
    DomtaR likes this.
  3. blacktiger2610

    blacktiger2610 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    6
    make sure that data traffic is disabled, this is turn off data.

    and disable data roaming if you dont want to get charged for using your phone while out of your country.

    In conclusion disable both if you dont want a nice big bill.
     
    DomtaR likes this.
  4. Madmax56

    Madmax56 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    15
    So, what is data traffic?

    Is this emails, sms, etc.? If so then if you disable this these will not come through automatically?

    Thank you
     
  5. JDwan

    JDwan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    24
    Data traffic is MMS (picture messages) and any other data transmission that requires an internet connection (e.g., email) . SMS goes through the regular phone connection so you don't need a data connection for that.
     
    Madmax56 likes this.
  6. dusexp

    dusexp New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    So, if I disable data trafic, I cant go internet with out using wi-fi. That means internet will not open even accidently. But if I disable it, can I send text messages and normal calls? Thanks
     
  7. 916x10

    916x10 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    65
    Want to do it the easy way? Download from the market "SwitchPro widget"

    The ugly icon you see in the notification bar is data disabled via mobile network, that stops all data to/from the phone which is not what you want. You just want to ensure you don't connect to 3g. The easy way to do it is to run SwitchPro, it has a "toggle" for "data connection" simply press the "toggle" to activate or deactivate it....will not give you the icon in your notification bar unless ur connected to 3g network. But when you turn it off, no icon. Another thing you could/should do too is turn off "background data" when you don't want apps to sync/send/receive data....do that by going into settings/accounts & sync and untick the background data box.
     
  8. beau420

    beau420 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,104
    Likes Received:
    173
    Yup.

    SMS messages aren't data....they are separate from that. You don't need data or wifi on to receive txts.

    If you want to receive txts with pics....that requires data.....but no one actually does those.
     
  9. 916x10

    916x10 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    65
    No one sends MMS messgs? That's a first
     

Share This Page

Loading...