Data roaming.. will i be charged?


Last Updated:

  1. vr6dubbin

    vr6dubbin Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ok so I have unlimited data with my droid. I'm out of town right now so I'm on the extended network, but if I turn on data roaming will I incur any charges? I am still in the states, so am I good?
     

    Advertisement
  2. 3devious

    3devious Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,362
    Likes Received:
    115
    I went out of my area, from DC to farm country in PA and had no data roaming charges. I also took my LG EnV to Quebec and only paid voice roaming. All of my data was free. (I had the VCAST VPACK at that time.)

    Are you in the 3g coverage area or are you getting 1x EV?
     
  3. vr6dubbin

    vr6dubbin Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    3
    Apparently I'm getting 3G coverage while roaming, which was odd to me because everyone talks about only getting 1x when data roaming.
     
  4. butthead007

    butthead007 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    28
    You will not be charged for roaming. Verizon is the only company that does not place a roaming restriction on voice or data roaming in their plans.

    If you were in Canada or Mexico or some other international destination, then there would be roaming charges.
     
  5. kyler13

    kyler13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,638
    Likes Received:
    284
    This makes sense. Verizon has the most expansive CDMA coverage in this country. I'm sure they probably net more from CDMA partners because those users roam onto Verizon's network much more than Verizon users roam onto the partnered networks. I'd bet Verizon gets a nice check from Sprint every month. Pretty soon AT&T will be writing checks to Verizon for 4G roaming. :p
     
  6. homerpez

    homerpez Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    2
    This is what my question would be, since I'm planning a trip to Niagara Falls in April sometime... and was planning to bring my HTC Eris (and the gf was planning on bringing her lesser phone, which ALSO has a data plan)...

    The last time I went to Niagara Falls on the Canadian side, Verizon was very punctual in making sure the SECOND you drive across the border, you're in "Canada", and roaming. So does the data plan just automatically kick on the same way???

    I don't think her phone will be a concern, but my Eris is constantly transferring data in the background - if roaming kicks in, I'll get charged whenever the phone is on. So the only solution is to shut off "Mobile" while there?... no web, no GPS... would suck.

    (This whole thing is annoying because where I come from, Canada isn't considered "international" because it's so close) :p
     
  7. bigdaadio

    bigdaadio Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sprint doesn't charge for roaming. Not sure where that came from.
     
  8. jtb199

    jtb199 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    4
    I wish I was in the sprint network...but there isn't coverage in my area...

    Straight from their site...

    Enjoy no additional charges for roaming in this expanded coverage area, reaching more than 280 million people, as long as less than half of your monthly call time is used while roaming. Sprint may terminate service if more than half of the minutes in a given month are used while roaming off the Sprint Nationwide PCS Network.

    So yes...it is free roaming...as long as you follow their rules about it...
     

Share This Page

Loading...