data usage with g1?General


Last Updated:

  1. cmdold

    cmdold New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm using an unlocked g1 on at&t, and i dont have a data plan. I want to still use wifi and mms but I dont want to get any internet charges on my bill at the end of the month. What can I do to make sure I'm not getting charged?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Blandroid

    Blandroid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't know if AT&T offers this, but carriers in Canada have the option of blocking all data to your account if you just call them up to ask.
    Just give them a shout and see if that's an option for you, though you may come across some service reps who will try to con you into signing up for a data plan saying how you'll need it and blah blah blah.
     
  3. cmdold

    cmdold New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0

    That is available on at&t however i wont be able to send or receive mms messages so I didnt do it. I really just want to make sure that when i dont have the browser or andriod market up, that my phone isnt running up data charges that I dont know about in the background.
     
  4. Blandroid

    Blandroid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    In that case I think that all you have to worry about is the data syncing.
    Just shut off auto-sync and you should be fine.
     
  5. Filament

    Filament Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't understand why you'd buy a G1 and then not get a data plan for it. 75% of the reason to own the phone is the mobile internet capabilities it gives you.
     
  6. SK.

    SK. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    3
    I think it has already been proved and well documented on here that just shutting off data syncing does not stop the phone from using data. I think there is an application on the market that was developed after this issue was found that does something with the APN so that it can't sync even when it tries to. Have a search around the site as I'm sure all the information is here
     
  7. dkaufman1

    dkaufman1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,202
    Likes Received:
    29
    Be aware this thing is a data hog...I got my Tmobile bill and had over 1000+ MB of data transfer.
     
  8. cmdold

    cmdold New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    that really got me no closer to solving my problem... in fact it may have gotten me farther away.

    thanks very much. i found the app called APNdroid. problem solved
     
  9. welder1973

    welder1973 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have just bought a G1 myself and obviousyy didnt do my homework before the purchase. Can anyone tell me how to download the app? I live in a very small town so there arent any hotspots that i know of to use the wifi. Can this phone be plugged in my PC via USB cable and download to the PC then copy it to the phone? I have little use for the internet on a phone, just thought i would give it a try, and can purchase 100MB for $20.00, I just dont know what may be running in the background that I dont know about. and for the record, im not an idiot, I just havent used a phone like this before. My last phone got crushed (HTC TyTN 2) and and I hastily bought the phone because it looked great. With the TyTN 2 you had the option of turning on and off any internet usage. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I think the
    APNdroid would fix all this. I just dont have a contract with AT&T because I actually hate that service provider so I use Pay As YOu Go to eliminate AT&T's surprises in billing, its just our only option where we live... Does the APNdroid completly solve this problem? welder1973
     

Share This Page

Loading...