Data Usage


Last Updated:

  1. Space Cowboy

    Space Cowboy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    3
    I'm not a heavy data user, so I just have the mandatory amount you need from ATT (200mb). I've been suspicious that there are some default background apps that might be trickling data constantly, but really don't know which ones they are. Can anyone tell me which apps I can shut down to prevent them from using data?

    Thanks
     

    Advertisement
  2. PhoneMatt

    PhoneMatt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    13
    I have the minimum data plan, too. (I almost always use wifi for data.) I use between .5 and .7M of data a day. I just consider that overhead and don't worry about it, it really is just a trickle. Last month I used a total of 23M of data and got a text from AT&T telling me that my data usage was very low. They offered a number to call so that I could be instructed in using the 3G data feature. (And believe me, I use the word "feature" with a huge amount of sarcasm.)
    Matt
     
  3. chocophile

    chocophile Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    22
    I just disable the data connection unless *I* want it on.
     
  4. Glucklichste

    Glucklichste Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    3
    I'd first go to settings, accounts and sync, and make sure you turn off "background data" and "auto-sync" unless you really need them - but it'll help with data use. You can still manually sync if you want to check for email or something, too. Some widgets that update/sync, just avoid or change their settings so they require manual refresh.

    Also, the little power widget is very helpful - wifi, bluetooth, gps, sync, and brightness. I've been using it to quickly toggle on/off my gps/sync.

    I also like 3G Watchdog - it really is a great, great app for monitoring data use.

    Use Wi-Fi when you can, and CapFAQ has a great tip to keep it on if you use it at home.

    Here: Data Usage - CapFAQ
     
  5. Space Cowboy

    Space Cowboy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    3
    Thanks for the response. I'll be sure and look at the "background data" and "auto-sync" as you've suggested.
     
  6. mint2005

    mint2005 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    you can monitor your usage from the At&t my wireless app on At&t app store.
     
  7. sremick

    sremick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,521
    Likes Received:
    356
    As already mentioned in the link provided in the post immediately above yours.
     
  8. mnemonicj

    mnemonicj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    32
    I just posted this is another thread. It may be the solution to your problem.

    I use an app called Droid Wall (requires root) to give Wifi and/or 3G access to whatever apps I choose. By default every app is blocked from using any Internet connection. Then, you go in to the Droid Wall app and give access to each app by checking the two check boxes for each app (Wifi and 3G). If there is an app that you want to have Internet access, but only Wifi, you can just check the Wifi box for that app and it will never use 3G.
     

Share This Page

Loading...