• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Help "Debranding" a Desire

Sptz

Jun 17, 2011
Hi guys,

I apologize in advance as I am quite sure this is the typical "noob" question that most of you might be a bit fed up with.

I've bought a Desire second hand, it's locked to Orange, so, I'm going to unlock it to be able to use my own SIM, but I also want to re-install the OS with just the OS with no Orange apps crap and whatever more garbage they throw in there, is that possible to do?

I'm quite new to the droid world, I was an iphone (3G) user, wont go back to apple again :)

Cheers and thanks in advance!

Welcome!
Yes it is possible. You need 2 things.

1) a gold card
2) an RUU.

RUU is a rom upgrade utility. This is an .exe that runs from your PC and reinstalls the OS. However, unbranded RUU's only work on unbranded devices. The RUU checks the devices Carrier ID and if it doesnt match, it wont install.

The goldcard is a specially modified SD card used to spoof the Carrier ID (CID) so an unbranded RUU can be used on a branded device.

I can link you to some steps to create a goldcard, but before I do, be aware that this will void your warranty so Orange and HTC will not accept it for warraanty repairs, even if the fault is hardware.

It is usaully possible to put the correct RUU on the phone to send back, but for orange, this is NOT available.

Reactions: Sptz
Upvote 0
Hey,

Meanwhile I found a tutorial and sucessfully formatted the SD card onto a Gold Card (I don't care about the warranty).

But I can't find a suitable RUU. I downloaded one from a tutorial and it was a 1.5x something version, my phone is running 2.2, I tried to update the ROM anyway so I could update to 2.2 afterwards with no luck, it just says it can't update the ROM. Is the "downgrading" being the problem here?

Edit: On the RUU it says:

From Image Version: 2.17.61.3

To Image Version: 1.15.405.3