Decided to Wait for the 2.1 OTA

Last Updated:

1. djkeller3

djkeller3 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

Rather than download the 2.1 update from the host server to update my Droid, I've decided to wait it out and receive the OTA whenever Verizon sends it to me. I'm not a techie - yes, I'm super into my Droid and love to discover new things it can do - but the fear of messing it up, or worse... bricking the thing... is keeping me from jumping the gun as most of the tech-savvy users on this board have done recently. It seems a little tricky, sometimes problematic, to update this way. For me to do so would probably send me to the loony bin. :eek:

Anyways, good luck to those who decide to mount and upgrade before the OTA!

Advertisement
  2. BigDaddyCool

BigDaddyCool Active Member

It is really a very simple process. If you follow the instructions that are posted it will take about 2 mins with no more chance of bricking than if you let Verizon push it to you.

3. hall640

hall640 Member

I can tell you I did it also in just a few minutes and smartphone techy is not my middle name, but I don't see much difference in the versions anyhow so it really doesn't matter if you decide to wait.

4. nstallion

nstallion Well-Known Member

I think the ones that have had problems are people who didn't unroot properly. The process of forcing the update is as simple as copying a zip file to your sd card and then pressing a few buttons as the phone starts up. There will be literally zero difference between the update.zip that people have linked to and what you will have when Verizon sends you the update - they are the same thing.

If that's the way you feel I say just wait for it to be pushed to you over the air though. I mean, really (ESE81) 2.1 isn't that amazing, especially not compared to the custom roms you can get. It will be pushed to you within a couple of days at most.

5. CRPercodani

CRPercodani OFWGKTA VIP Member