Default browser stops / crashes / stalls when using 3GSupport


Last Updated:

  1. 1981tom0

    1981tom0 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    I mentioned this in another thread (HTC Desire 3G problem) but thought it best to open a new thread.

    I am having a problem with the default browser on my HTC Desire where it will stop loading web pages (or not load them at all) even when I have a H connection or 3G connection. All other programs seem to be able to connect via h/3G fine i.e. Market, Opera Mini, GMail etc...

    I tried this morning on the following sites:

    Twitter
    Latest news, comment and reviews from the Guardian | guardian.co.uk
    Wikipedia

    and none would open. The little green bar gets stuck about 3mm in. I have a H showing in the status bar. When I first loaded the browsed and went to HTC - Mobile Phones, Smartphones, Cell Phones, PDAs this worked fine. However, this has also stopped loading as I type. EDIT: ww.htc.com now working (3 minutes later), Google is working, but still none of the above mentioned sites..

    I am in Manchester UK and am on 3. I have been on 3 for quite a few years and have never had a problem with connecting in Manchester. I don't think it is a carrier problem as I am able to connect to the internet with other programs as already mentioned. Also, all the above mentioned sites open fine when I use WiFi.

    It was mentioned on the other thread that someone has informed 3UK of the problem and they have informed HTC, but if any other people are having the same problem please detail it here and inform your carrier and HTC.

    Thanks!
     

    Advertisement
  2. Kendoji

    Kendoji Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    12
    Yep, as we discussed in other threads recently, I also regularly have this problem. The browser stops loading and seems to get stuck switching between 3G and HSDPA. I'm on Telfort in the Netherlands, and never had this issue with the same SIM card on my previous phone.

    My workaround at the moment is to use Task Killer to close the browser, and re-launch it. Seems to do the trick. I suspect this is a software problem with the default browser, as internet connection via other apps is never a problem at the same time.
     
  3. 1981tom0

    1981tom0 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. jett953

    jett953 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    i'm with orange had the phone for a day and have noticed this problem about 20minutes into playing around with the browser and internet nothing is loading for me now but facebook and then i still don't have full usage as i can't comment or up load status or send inbox messages very frustrating :/// i was thinking of taking it back but realised all htc desires are going to be like it after reading everyones comments
    j
     
  5. dougall

    dougall New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have been having this problem as well as the loss of data connection when leaving WiFi. I have found that disabling javascript (MENU-MORE-SETTINGS in browser) helps reduce the likelihood of a freeze.
    The only solution to the WiFi switch problem seems to be going in and out of airplane mode. HTC informed me that they are working on this problem.
     
  6. Sumo

    Sumo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    3
    I too get the same issue as above,and also get droped calls and texts.

    Always at full signal on H?
     
  7. 1981tom0

    1981tom0 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah it happens for me when I have a full signal H. I also have had problems with text messages not sending and calls getting disconnected. My work around for the dropped calls was to disable the 3G connection and only turn it on when I actually need to go online - this of course means no auto-updating of anything though.

    I contacted HTC regarding my dropped calls and they said I could send it in for repair, but I am awaiting a response from 3 about whether I should go through them or HTC direct.
     
  8. mckittrick

    mckittrick New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Same here. The default browser works when I'm on the wifi. When I disable the Wifi, the browser stalls (a few millimeters of green in the address bar). Other applications don't appear affected (market, peep, friendstream, weather, maps, googlemail).

    Is there anyone who can advise on how to debug this situation?

    If it is helpful, my phone is brand new, I have nothing installed. I have just tried NetCounter once but it is now uninstalled. (It displayed 2.84Mo on cell network traffic whereas I was on Wifi and it wasn't increasing as I was surfing. When connected on G/H, it didn't count any traffic.)

    HTC Desire
    Provider: Proximus - Belgium
    Firmware: 2.1-update1
    Baseband: 32.30.00.28U_4.05.00.11
    Kernel: 2.6.29-97da29ed htc-kernel@and18-2 #1
    Build: 1.15.405.4 CL1555070
     
  9. Popo

    Popo New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    @mckittrick
    I have the exact same problem as you on HTC Desire.
    No problems on wifi, but on 3G, the built in browser does't work, although all other internet apps doe work (Opera Mini, syncing, email, etc).

    I'm also with Proximus Belgium.

    Has anyone found more information or a sulution yet?
     
  10. jo138

    jo138 New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    Same problem here as mckittrick and Popo. The default browser and exchange mailbox never work with 3G. With wifi, the browser and exchange mailbox work.
    If I am on 3G, I can read mail, use google maps, youtube and facebook.
    The opera browser works as well.

    I hope there will be a solution soon.
     
  11. jo138

    jo138 New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    After 4 day's trying i posted a message, and 10 minutes after posting the message I found the solution. I think it is only for the proximus users.
    Go to Settings -> Wireless & networks -> Mobile networks -> Access Point names -> Px Internet -> clear the proxy ip address and port.
    Happy browsing !
     
    feras likes this.
  12. nx1977

    nx1977 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,419
    Likes Received:
    172
    I can get this on WiFi, so more a browser issue than 3g imo
     
  13. Popo

    Popo New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I can confirm that jo138 is correct.
    Just clear out the proxy and port in the APN settings it the built in browser works on 3G.

    Thx jo138 :).
     
  14. tdrtu

    tdrtu New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I also confirm jo138's solution.Worked for me in Germany with O2.
     
  15. mckittrick

    mckittrick New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hell yeah! Thx jo138!

    I can now inform HTC support I no longer suffer from this annoying problem.

    Apparently the default APN (Px Internet in my case for Proximus) is configured with a proxy. I think it is a problem with the default configuration stored on the SIM card. If you reset my APN entries to default (Settings > Wireless & networks > Mobile Networks > Access Point Names, tap menu, tap reset to default), I get the proxy entry back :confused:

    I'm glad I can finally get back to "pinch and zoom" :)
     
  16. tomvdp

    tomvdp Active Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    4
    hmm... no joy here. Also on Proximus but I keep getting browser problems, even after clearing the proxy settings. Switching off 3g and reconnecting solves it for the first load of a site, but consequent loads (e.g. logging in) just stall. Any other settings I should verify ? I tried cleaning all brower cache, history etc, to no avail! Grrrrrr.
     
  17. Caspa

    Caspa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    12
    Same issue here on Orange UK... Seems to be limited to 3G only, whereby when it switches to H it loads fine but as soon as it drops back to 3G it gets stuck again....

    Unfortunately Orange dont have proxy and port settings so the fix doesnt work!

    Bloody annoying!
     
  18. sndwv

    sndwv New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am on Telfort (KPN network) in the Netherlands and probably have the problem that is discussed here, but on a Samsung Galaxy S (Android 2.1). Default browser and mail app: 'H' symbol: data is received, 'G' symbol: loading stops, back to 'H' symbol: loading usually resumes, but sometimes stalls the connection, requiring a reset or VERY long wait. And while all the time reception status is ok. Any news or updates on this? Or at least a possible culprit (hardware, software, firmware, network)?
     
  19. TELREA

    TELREA Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0

    Had this problem for about 2 weeks,tried everything then done the *#*#4636#*#* selected GSM/CDMA AUTO option under phone information and fingers crossed all been good for past couple days
     
  20. sndwv

    sndwv New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks; will give this a try!
     
  21. Paulo Royale

    Paulo Royale New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Been having the same problem here on 2.1 for aboout a week - tried all suggestions and nothing fixes it.
    Going back to the iPhone for now
     
  22. dgogoasa

    dgogoasa New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have been having this for the last 2 weeks on HTC DESIRE froyo. The browsing doesn't work neither on wifi nor mobile networs(none of them).
    And this when ALL other applications accessing the networks work without a glitch (games, sync accounts, mail, android market).
    But I installed Opera and this browser has no problem whatsoever. So what the heck is going on, it seems like there is a problem of PROTOCOL? (http and https) and the browsers not manging some changes that Opera has no problem with while the stock broser and Dolphin fail to handle? Is anybody looking at this?

    For the moment I recommend you use Opera for browsing. At least this is what I am doing altough Opera is a pain in the arse to manage Bookmarks or settings . . . they have a browser, now they want you to play their game too . . .
     
  23. megs4455

    megs4455 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, I'm in Australia and having same issue on HTC Desire, Froyo, build 2.10.405.2. Default browser works fine on WiFi, but won't work on 3G/H/G, although I am able to access other things, e.g. FaceBook, Market etc. To get internet on mobile network, must use Opera Mini which I don't like as it doesn't have flash and I need that for work. Have tried other browsers too, e.g. Dolphin, Skyfire, but they hang also. Have tried all suggestions here to no avail.

    Can this be fixed please. Surprised that is wasn't fixed in the new update, as this is an identified issue... Any suggestions would be welcomed.
     
  24. tomj0311

    tomj0311 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Try using opera 4.2 and change the protocol to HTTP instead of Socket..!!
     
  25. OppfinnarJocke

    OppfinnarJocke Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    I've been having the same problem discussed here. Intermittently, and more and more frequently, none of my installed browsers (xScope, Skyfire, Dolphin HD, HTC browser) work on the mobile network; they all just stall while the H icon blinks. Eventually I get a message that the server did not respond. And all this while the Facebook, Market, Maps, email and other apps relying on web access had no problems.

    Today I un-installed all browsers, except the HTC native, and suddenly it worked. Then I re-installed Dolphin HD, and nothing worked again. Even un-installing Dolphin did not get things working.

    Clearing out the proxy and port seem to have fixed things... holding my thumbs...

    I'm in Sweden on Telenor, HTC Desire (not locked to operator) running Android 2.2
     

Share This Page

Loading...