1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

Default Launcher setting not sticking


Last Updated:

  1. braj

    braj Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    18
    I'm using Launcher Pro and just yesterday I started having the issue where if you long-press Home and switch apps, you remove your default launch choice and then need to reselect it the next time you short-press on Home. It remembers the setting until I again long-press and use the app switcher.

    My question: how do I get this to stick? What 'app' is used to do the app switch by default, and is there anything else I could use to do this? I would hate to be stuck with this permanently, and I'm not thinking it is LauncherPro's fault. What other apps could conflict and cause this behavior?

    Thanks in advance!
     

    Advertisement
  2. braj

    braj Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    18
    BTW LauncherPro just had a couple updates, but I also updated many apps in the last day.
     
  3. akazabam

    akazabam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4,418
    Likes Received:
    1,387
    Are you running 2.1 or 2.2? Did you use Home Switcher or do you always select it when prompted? Are you using any kind of home replacement under it like Quickdesk?
     
  4. braj

    braj Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    18
    2.1 CAptivate, yes use HomeSwitcher, no other home replacement but LauncherPro. The only thing in the list is the Samsung launcher and LP.
     
  5. wabbitt1970

    wabbitt1970 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    8
    I had a similar problem about a week ago.

    If you download panda home (free) then you will get the option to choose your home launcher again.

    I did this and reselected Launcherpro.

    After that I uninstalled Panda and I was back to my regular Launcherpro for my home screen.

    Hope that helps.
     
  6. braj

    braj Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    18
    What is Panda and where do you get it? Thanks!

    Oh I found it, PandaHome, trying it now...
     
  7. braj

    braj Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    18
    Yeah, that didn't do anything. It is just another launcher in the list, so uninstalled. I believe it is some other app conflicting but I'm not sure at all what it may be.
     
  8. braj

    braj Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    18
  9. braj

    braj Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    18
    Gee I wonder what I'd do without this functionality, it would surely suck to need to go to my home screen before switching to another app.
     
  10. kevin@teslacoilsw

    kevin@teslacoilsw VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    130
    For completeness of this thread, here are some other apps that can cause this problem on Android 2.1 (Android 2.2 seems to be immune):

    Qik for EVO
    EStrongs Security Manager
    AnDrawing
     
    braj likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...