Delay After Hitting Home Button


Last Updated:

  1. bobob101

    bobob101 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hey guys!

    New to the forum and the reason I signed up is I can't seem to find anything online about the problem I'm having with my HTC Desire. I am running a custom Froyo ROM (DeFrost 5.1) with ClockworkMod 2.5.0.7.

    My issue is that sometimes when I'm in an application (as far as I can tell, any application..haven't been able to pick up on any patterns, other than I have to be in the app for more than about 15 seconds) and I hit the home button, there is about a 5+ second delay before the phone reacts. While I'm waiting, the current app is fully functional as if I hadn't done anything although after waiting it will do it's usual process to get back to the home screen (fluid animation and everything). Hitting the home button multiple times seems to make the process go faster, although there is still a delay (the sense of it happening faster could simply be that I'm doing something instead of just sitting there too and it's not a real decrease in the delay).

    I have Launcher Pro Plus installed with "Keep in memory" and "Use homescreen caches" options enabled to try and make the home screen react faster. Memory usage preset is set to "High" and Homescreen cache type is set to normal.

    The weird thing about this is before I installed the custom ROM, I was experiencing the same thing with Android 2.1 w/ Sense UI since I got the phone (got it end of August) and if I remember correctly happened both with and without Launcher Pro installed (didn't know about the memory settings in Launcher Pro at the time so they were at default then).

    Is anyone experiencing a similar issue and/or does anyone have any suggestions as to how to fix this? I really like Android and truly want to love it, but things like this just keep getting in the way. If it's an OS issue then Google really needs to work on this as it really is nuts when you want to switch apps to wait 5+ seconds before even getting started.

    Thanks ahead! :D

    Bob
     

    Advertisement
  2. BookLover

    BookLover Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    977
    Likes Received:
    114
    I experienced lag similar to yours when I had SystemPanel installed.

    My LPP homescreen took at least 5+ seconds to re-draw/re-populate all the homescreen widgets.

    Once I uninstalled it, the homescreen didn't lag/re-draw anymore.
     
  3. bobob101

    bobob101 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks for the quick reply! I believe I installed SystemPanel just after I flashed my phone, but installed it shortly after since I wasn't using it. SystemPanel hasn't been on my phone for at least a month.

    The other thing is when I'm waiting for something to happen I'm still fully immersed in the current app, not staring at a blank home screen like others have reported.
     
  4. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    There uis a 5 second rule where android preventsbackground processes starting 5 seconds after home is pressed.. maybe somehow lp is seen as a background process
     
  5. bobob101

    bobob101 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    That could be....and I guess even with LP set to "Keep in memory", it could still become a background process. Seems like a weird rule if you ask me, especially w/ custom launchers. Why offer the option as an OS if you are going to do something that inherently cripples the feature? I guess there would be no way of fixing that either.....
     
  6. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    It's never been a problem for me so if it is that it must be fixable.

    Do a titanium back up then go a factory resrt. Does it still happen
     
  7. bobob101

    bobob101 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    I was afraid I would have to do that... :( I won't be able to do that until at least tomorrow so when I do it I will post the results. Thanks for the help!
     
  8. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    Well at least if it doesnt fix it, you have a titanium backup and can restore all your apps and settings. If it does fix it, its not a fault...
     
    bobob101 likes this.
  9. bobob101

    bobob101 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ok, well tonight I actually updated my DefroST ROM and in the process cleared everything then restored from Titanium backup. So far it seems that it's fixed the issue as far as I can tell, but it may crop up again. I'll come back for another update tomorrow after I've used the phone for a full day to see if the issue is still there. Good call on the Titanium backup though! :D
     
  10. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    Ggood call on latest defrost. Miss a release here and there but try to stay relatively up to date. It just gets better and better
     
  11. bobob101

    bobob101 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    Absolutely! Actually, 6.0e is out...still messing around with the phone so keep coming across the updates :p

    Anyways, after the wipe it is still doing it, although it does seem less frequently and the phone overall feels snappier. But it's still happening unfortunately...I don't think it's a hardware issue as when I push the button I push it roughly the same way every time and only sometimes the delay happens. :confused:
     
  12. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    If factory reset doesn't fix it, its hard to say its not hardware
     
  13. bobob101

    bobob101 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    True enough...well if it is hardware then I guess I'll live with it...rooting and flashing kind of killed the whole warranty idea lol
     
  14. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    Not necessarily. You can flash an RUU. Was it branded? Was it Telus?

    Shipped ROMs
     
  15. bobob101

    bobob101 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    It was branded and yes it was Telus (good guess!). Ok, so as far as Telus is concerned if I take it in after flashing an RUU they won't know the difference and my warranty should still be good?
     
  16. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    It will revert completely to stock. No harm, no foul
     
    bobob101 likes this.
  17. bobob101

    bobob101 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    Awesome! Well, I don't think I feel like going through the warranty process right now but I will definitely keep that in mind.

    Thanks again for all your help with everything!
     

Share This Page

Loading...