Delay of tones entered using "p" (for voicemail passwords)Support


Last Updated:

  1. kjarrett

    kjarrett Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    29
    Having two issues. First, can't figure out how to edit the 'default' *86 to add p1234# to the number so it sends my VM password.

    So, I created a new contact called VM and gave it *86p1234# as a number but when I call it the delay is loonnnnnnnnnng...I hear "please enter your password" three times before the tones are sent. What gives?

    TIA,

    -kj-
     

    Advertisement
  2. jazztalker

    jazztalker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    13
    Menu - settings - call - voicemail settings - tap on where it lists your voicemail number

    You should be all set.
     
  3. lgldrgdlr

    lgldrgdlr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    717
    Likes Received:
    192
    I this set up as well and had the same issues. Sometimes it would go really quickly and sometimes it would take forever, like you said. I got fed up with it and changed back to normal. I can deal with entering the 4 digits.
     
  4. jazztalker

    jazztalker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    13
    Sometimes I'll notice a delay (or lack of tones being sent at all) too. It seems like if I take the phone away from my head and the display lights up then they get sent. Not sure if that has anything to do with it or it's just a coincidence.
     
    kjarrett likes this.
  5. kjarrett

    kjarrett Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    29
    Did that but I am still given a choice to 'set up visual voicemail' - so I have to tap once more. How do I get rid of that so it calls immediately?

    The contact I set up via Shortcut works as intended - just calls the number and sends the tones, eventually...
     
  6. kjarrett

    kjarrett Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    29
    Too funny! If I move the phone away from my ear as soon as I hear 'please enter your password' the tones are sent immediately. Thanks!
     
  7. jazztalker

    jazztalker Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    13
    That one I'm not sure about. There might not be a way around that one using the stock voicemail app - your shortcut method sounds like the way I'd do it too.

    Cool, glad that helped!
     
  8. blw1230

    blw1230 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    1
    Here's what I did. When I went into settings -> call -> VM settings. Mine reads without quotations, "*86, xxxx#". I read somewhere that each comma represents basically a second delay. I use one comma, but I've read where some people use three. I had to adjust mine because three commas took forever. So after the voice tells you to enter your password, a small box pops up as reads "Sending tones, xxxx#". Hope this helps.
     
    kjarrett likes this.
  9. golfinglenn

    golfinglenn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    41
    fyi, for those with google voicemail you need to use commas instead of a p. The more commas the longer the pause. I use 2 commas and works well. I tried using the standard voicemail with p and phone as a speakerphone and could not get it to work right.
     
  10. kjarrett

    kjarrett Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    29
    Thanks, P and comma seem to have the same effect...
     
  11. catlove

    catlove New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi guys I'm new here . This is my first google phone. I had the same problem also the solution is after you dial the voice mail move the phone from your cheek and the Pause will release . I found out when the phone is close to you face it will not release the pass code. I hope this help.:D
     
  12. tracerprix

    tracerprix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    10
    What if I want to insert a pause then add a extension? When I call work I need to dial 0 after a few moments.
     
  13. mpavlovic

    mpavlovic New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    How come when i get to ur last step (voicemail #) i can't edit it??

    it reads " +13065206245 " but it wont let me add anything. voicemail just keeps telling me my password is incorrect should i be adding something else in other than my 4 digit password?
     

Share This Page

Loading...