Delete keyboard dictionarySupport


Last Updated:

  1. dapaintballer331

    dapaintballer331 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Over time i accidentally added misspelled words to my magic's auto-correct dictionary.

    Can I clear the items, and restore it to default keyboard words?
     

    Advertisement
  2. slarti

    slarti Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    9
    settings -> locale & text -> user dictionary

    Then just edit or delete words as needed
     
  3. grashum

    grashum New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't believe this is where the dictionary is anymore. I have looked and can't find it anywhere. Does anyone else know where it is now?
     
  4. jeff000

    jeff000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    I can't find mine either...???? And I hate when I add some stupid word and then that comes up all the time when I don't want it to.
     
  5. jeff000

    jeff000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anyone know where the dictionary is now?
     
  6. jeff000

    jeff000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is there a dictionary still?
     
  7. Carl C

    Carl C Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,062
    Likes Received:
    38
    If your using the default keyboard the instructions given previously are correct :)

    Are you using an alternative keyboard? the HTC_IME?
     
  8. jeff000

    jeff000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    AS far as I know I am using the original keyboard, but using chomp sms if that changes anything.

    I do not have user dictionary in my locale and text menu.
     
  9. mjschmidt

    mjschmidt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,272
    Likes Received:
    113
    I know Jeff000 is from Canada, and recently performed the forced Rogers/HTC update tp 1.5 for the 911 bug fix, which also added HTC Sense UI. This update has cause a number of problems, including removing certain functions.

    Can the rest of you with the missing dictionary tell us which phone you are using, and which OS version? By any chance are you using a Rogers Magic after the 911bugfix update, or otherwise using Sense UI?
     
  10. arkanick

    arkanick New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm using the Sense UI, and yup that setting does not seem to be at where its stated to be at :confused:
     
  11. jeff000

    jeff000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Seems no one knows, anyone know of an app that will let me edit it?
     
  12. jmt17

    jmt17 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Go into Settings>Applications>Manage Applications>Touch Input>Clear Data

    This will clear USER dictionary and settings such as Vibrate and Sounds while texting, which can be set back in seconds under Settings>Locale and Text

    Hope this helps!
     
  13. vyrt1go

    vyrt1go New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Settings -> Language & Keyboard -> Touch Input -> User Dictionary
     
  14. cv101191

    cv101191 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    First go to the home page then push menu. click settings. Click Language and keyboard. click touch input. click user dictionary. from there you can select the words that you have accientally added and want to take out of the dictionary. You can even add words there.
    hope this helps :)
     
  15. jeff000

    jeff000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have "keyboard types", "Keyboard Language", "Text input", "Tutorial" in the Tough input menu, non of which contain anything that could possibly be a user dictionary.
     
  16. jester369

    jester369 Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Don't know what phone you're using, but I was starting to get frustrated too. Incredible, 2.1, rooted. Went to Language and Keyboard > Touch Input > User Dictionary

    Might try looking under text input or in the others for more sub menus, even if they seem counter intuitive that there would be a dictionary in the menu...
     
  17. sultan28

    sultan28 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi guys i just found on my HTC Desire HD how to delete words.

    Go to Settings -> Language and Keyboard -> Touchinput -> Personal Dictionary. there you can delete and add words..

    cheers
     
  18. fabzxp

    fabzxp New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do you guys know how to edit words in the dictionary for the HTC Desire C pls? I have searched all over but couldn't find. :/

    EDIT:

    Nevermind. I found it under:
    Settings > Language & Keyboard > HTC Sense Input> Advanced Settings.
    Toggle Word Prediction & Spell Correction & Word Completion

    :D
     
  19. thatoneonon

    thatoneonon New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well I have a G'zone Commando, and the way i did ti was i went to settings, then to applications, manage applications, All Applications, and at the very bottom was XT9 Text input, you go in and click on Clear data and that should do the trick, (P.S.) If you have trace on it will turn it off!! :):):):)
     
  20. rod720

    rod720 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had the same problem and came here to find an answer. Found nothing that worked. So, I tried this and it worked. Let me know if it works for you.

    I am using a LG Optimus G ls970 (sprint) with jellybean

    Went to app settings>android keyboard >clear data>yes

    It cleared everything from slang to mistakes to usernames. Hope this helps someone.
     
  21. soreen

    soreen Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    What worked for me:

    New message ... just to have the keyboard
    Click on settings. (The keyboard ones)
    Click on predictive text.
    Clear personalised data.
     
  22. soreen

    soreen Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    What worked for me:

    New message ... just to have the keyboard
    Click on settings. (The keyboard ones)
    Click on predictive text.
    Clear personalised data.
    I was tired that whenever I pressed p ... pornhub would be there ;)))
     

Share This Page

Loading...