delete stock dialer for Droid


Last Updated:

  1. xmr405o

    xmr405o Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,171
    Likes Received:
    1,185
    Can I delete the stock dialer app if I install and download Dialer One?
     

    Advertisement
  2. brnr17

    brnr17 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    17
    are you rooted?
     
  3. xmr405o

    xmr405o Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,171
    Likes Received:
    1,185
    Yes I am. I guess my question is...does dialer one need the stock dialer to work. like skyfire will not work without the stock browser
     
  4. Optimus

    Optimus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    16
    Wouldn't you hose your phone. Even dailer one uses..from what I seen..the dailer interface during a call.
     
  5. samster

    samster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    3
    i tried doing this after first installing Dialer one a few months back (well actually tried hiding phone.apk by renaming it in Terminal), and it resulted in FC city. Dialer one is just an alternate dialer/contacts/recent calls interface, where phone.apk is responsible for actually making and receiving the calls. Dont do it lol
     
  6. messenger13

    messenger13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    3,133
    Likes Received:
    381
    With Samster's post, the answer appears to be a definite NO. But thought I'd add ... whenever you want to try to get rid of any stock app, the best thing to do is a nandroid backup first. That way, you can revert back if things go south.

    A lot of apps are only frontends to the stock apps. It sounds like Dialer One is one of them.
     

Share This Page

Loading...