Deleted my system :(


Last Updated:

  1. Blacklablelive

    Blacklablelive Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2012
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    4
    nvm..i found it...now im reading the instructions for fast boot method and it sez something about md5.file..i downloaded the ics version...i see no md5
     

    Advertisement
  2. OutOfPhase

    OutOfPhase Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4,023
    Likes Received:
    2,122
    md5 is a file checker to make sure what you downloaded is not corrupt.

    http://www.winmd5.com/download/winmd5free.zip

    Download that zip and install it. when it is done you can use it to find the md5 of the file you downloaded and compare it to the one one the website.
     
    iowabowtech likes this.
  3. Blacklablelive

    Blacklablelive Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2012
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    4
    nvm that lol...where is the adb at
     
  4. OutOfPhase

    OutOfPhase Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4,023
    Likes Received:
    2,122
  5. Blacklablelive

    Blacklablelive Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2012
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    4
    ok..now before i move on...how should the file look..meaning wat should be in the folder..like in cwm..u needed a folder with the .img , the two .dll , and fastboot
     
  6. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    12,059
    Likes Received:
    8,524
    Review this post again for install instructs:

    What we are doing is unzipping the file from my dropbox folder onto the root of your computer's C drive. At that time you will see a folder called Android-sdk-windows. If you open it up, there'll be a subfolder called Platform-tools. And inside that there will be several files, 2 of which are adb.exe and fastboot.exe.

    Once that is accomplished, and the adb/fastboot driver has been installed from several posts above, then you can attmept to interface the phone with your PC using adb and/or fastboot commands.
     
  7. Blacklablelive

    Blacklablelive Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2012
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    4
    ok...i got twrp installed..it pulls up...am i ready for rom?...if so..wats best for the system i stared out with
     
  8. Blacklablelive

    Blacklablelive Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2012
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    4
    or better..wat would be better rom to use
     
  9. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    12,059
    Likes Received:
    8,524
    Ok good job. I don't know what rom to recommend for this device. You mentioned you used the ICS version of TWRP so perhaps somebody could chime in.

    Aside from that however, what's your plan to get a rom (and perhaps Gapps if necessary) onto the card? Do you have a card reader? That would be preferred. If not, we can adb push a rom from the pc to the phone if need be.
     
  10. Blacklablelive

    Blacklablelive Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2012
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    4
    i put files i need on my phone then sd ect...btw..wat is gapps
     
  11. OutOfPhase

    OutOfPhase Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4,023
    Likes Received:
    2,122
    gapps are google apps(play, gmail...) Some roms they are included some are not.
     
  12. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    12,059
    Likes Received:
    8,524
    So do you remove your card and put the rom onto the card? Because you still don't yet have a booting device right? So I'm not sure how you'd use the phone to access the rom.

    Anyway, Gapps is just short for Google Apps. Necessary for AOSP roms only. So it may not apply to you.

    edit: ninja'd by OutOfPhase
     
  13. Blacklablelive

    Blacklablelive Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2012
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    4
    my phone is the way i put files on my sd...then the sd goes to my tab witch is wat im trying to fix...i see in twrp it gives me the option to go to my ex-sd
     
  14. Blacklablelive

    Blacklablelive Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2012
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    4
    shouldnt i be able to install the rom that way?
     
  15. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    12,059
    Likes Received:
    8,524
    Ahh ok I see what you're saying. Yeah give it a shot and see if your pc recognizes your storage while in recovery. I thought it was called usb storage or similar back when I last used that option but whatever works.
     
  16. Blacklablelive

    Blacklablelive Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2012
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    4
    id rlly like to find a stock rom and back it up
     
  17. Blacklablelive

    Blacklablelive Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2012
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    4
    and also...i was running on ics..is there anyway to go to jb
     
  18. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    12,059
    Likes Received:
    8,524
    I'm assuming there are some JB roms but from what I'm reading, it appears quite necessary to load the official JB update in order to acquire the JB bootloader so we're talking about unrooting I would think.

    At any rate, since you're still on ICS, I would hope there is a stockish ICS rom available for this device? :confused: Anyone?

    That way you can get the thing up and running. That's priority one. Everything else about JB and related stuff can be decided after you have a booting device.
     
  19. jhawkkw

    jhawkkw Chinchillin' Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011
    Messages:
    10,634
    Likes Received:
    7,396
    On an Asus tab, if you unlock the bootloader then Asus will not push ota's to the device and they have to be installed manually. Also, don't try to install the .blob file found on the Asus firmware list because I believe it will hard brick the tab with an unlocked bootloader.
     
    iowabowtech likes this.
  20. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    12,059
    Likes Received:
    8,524
  21. wetbiker7

    wetbiker7 Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7,475
    Likes Received:
    3,426
    Sorry I haven't been around but as you all know, life calls.

    I'm not really familiar with ICS seeing as my device came with Jelly Bean. I do know that there are ways around voiding the warranty if the device is running the ICS bootloader. I haven't done a lot of reading on it since it doesn't apply to me.

    I really hate to point a member to another forum but XDA REALLY has A LOT on this device. I MEAN A BUNCH! If he needs to find a custom, rooted ROM or even a stock, rooted ROM. That's gonna be the place he needs to look.


    @ Blaclablelive, I just want to warn you that if you do decide to go to XDA, you are going to find some not-so-nice people over there. Just wanted to forewarn you. I suggest getting your device functional here at Android Forums. These guys are trying their best to help you. When you finally do get it working, go to the site below to look for your ICS ROM.

    http://forum.xda-developers.com/forumdisplay.php?f=1578
     
  22. jhawkkw

    jhawkkw Chinchillin' Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011
    Messages:
    10,634
    Likes Received:
    7,396
    Yeah, the only ICS Roms I see are CM nightlies, and an unofficial version of AOKP B40. There seem to be a lot of stock rooted deodexed roms, mostly JB, and one for ICS, but has a big warning on it.

    AOKP is here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1699535

    The stock ICS one is here http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1772614, but I don't recommend it because it has big problems if the current version is not the same version already.

    Obviously flashing CM9 or AOKP will require ICS gapps.
     
    wetbiker7 likes this.
  23. wetbiker7

    wetbiker7 Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7,475
    Likes Received:
    3,426
    Just wanted to through this in here too. This is the video that I watched when I started working on mine. It has a lot of good info as far as installing fastboot and using it. All he needs to do is replace CWM with TWRP and it's commands.

    How to: Root ASUS TF300 + CWM Recovery (Works on ALL Firmware) - YouTube

    Like I mentioned earlier, my tab is running JB. The ICS bootloader is a little bit different. I wish I could be more help but I'm not up to speed on ICS.
     
    iowabowtech likes this.
  24. iowabowtech

    iowabowtech root@android:/ #

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    12,059
    Likes Received:
    8,524
    Sounds good man. Yeah we got TWRP flashed so the only hurdle left is finding an ICS rom to get the thing booted. After that, he can do whatever needs to happen so he can accept the OTA and be on official JB. I'm leaning toward recommending the CM9 stable from the Rootz link above. That will be based on ICS and should get him up and running so he can proceed.
     
    wetbiker7 likes this.
  25. wetbiker7

    wetbiker7 Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    7,475
    Likes Received:
    3,426
    You guys are awesome! Even though it's not my tab, I really appreciate all the help you've given him. Nice to know there are still people out there who will go out of their way to help someone. :)

    Here's a good place to look for a ROM. Most of them have been converted to JB but there are still a few out there for ICS.

    http://forum.xda-developers.com/forumdisplay.php?f=1582
     
    OutOfPhase, jhawkkw and iowabowtech like this.

Share This Page

Loading...