Deleting E-mail on Phone OnlySupport

Last Updated:

1. appleaj

appleaj Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

Is there any way to delete e-mails, for Gmail or Exchange, w/o deleting them from my actual account? The nice thing about my BlackBerry is that it gave you the option to "Delete from Handheld, or Delete from Handheld & Inbox".

I'd like to be able to clear unnecessary e-mails from my phone, but keep some of them in my actual inbox.

Advertisement
  2. nate3382

nate3382 Member

I'd like the know the same thing since im new to android

3. jrbaker8

jrbaker8 Active Member

i dont have mine yet so i do not know, but if you dont have that option, perhaps you could just create an archive folder and move emails in there that you do not want to come up on your main inbox on your phone?

4. To0l

To0l Active Member

Ok I tested this and it seems to work!!!
    it is deleting mail on phone but not on mail server

1. Click Mail Icon
    2. Menu Button
    3. More
    4. Settings
    5. Send and Receive
    6. Uncheck Delete mail on server

humboldtsgt, LiQUiDBuD and veccster like this.
  5. windycity

windycity Well-Known Member

What you need to do is set up the account using POP instead if IMAP/ActiveSync. POP "pulls" the messages from the server and doesn't send back read status, delete etc. Understand, though, that the real power of the ActiveSync is that it keeps everything matched up (web to work to home etc). If you search Gmail help, you'll find the POP settings.

6. ncsustash

ncsustash Well-Known Member

why would you only want to delete it on the phone??? you then have to go delete it off the server later on.... It isn't like you are going to run out of space as long as it doesn't download large attachements...

7. fastharryDOTcom

fastharryDOTcom Well-Known Member

tagged..

8. tarponbeach

tarponbeach Well-Known Member