Deleting Sprint Bloatware Without Rooting?


Last Updated:

  1. mslisaj

    mslisaj Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    6
    Is there a way to remove some of the Sprint Bloatware without rooting the phone. I know some of those apps Sprint probably sold their soul to have on the phone but some of it is just trash. I'm not looking to clear up memory or any performance improvements. I just want to do some house cleaning of junk that I will NEVER use. I was hoping for maybe an unlock code or something simpler then the root/rom way to go. I'm very satisfied with the way things are working now but some of that garbage has got to go. I know junk is standard bill of fare on new computers but you can go through and systematically delete the garbage but I'm a little offended to have something that I bought and paid for and can't even clear out the junk and personalize it to my taste..................

    Thanks for your help as always.......... Lisa

    P.S. If there was a place that I could take my phone and pay a fee and have it rooted and set up and returned with the apps that I use, paid for and want I would gladly put out the money. Now there is a business us chickens would use.......
     

    Advertisement
  2. SamuraiBigEd

    SamuraiBigEd Under paid Sasquatch! Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    4,181
    Likes Received:
    2,088
    As far as I know there is no way to remove Sprints bloatware without rooting. However, rooting is as simple as can be if you use Fresh Kitchen.
     
  3. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,815
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    No way to remove them w/o rooting, unfortunately. Rumor is that it was not intentional, but yet to see something official that says that.

    If removing them are that important, I'm sure there are those who would walk you through the entire process.
     
  4. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,566
    Likes Received:
    86
    Like the previous posters have said, there's no way to remove them without rooting.

    Again like they've said, rooting is extremely easy, just follow the instructions in the guide in the rooting section (I don't tell anyone to use the kitchen to root though, seems they're the people that have all the issues and have to come here to ask how to fix them lol)
     
  5. jeffreynothing43

    jeffreynothing43 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    5
    yah, i would manually root.......the kitchen seems to mess things up.
     
  6. hakujin

    hakujin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    36
    How so? Can anyone be more specific? I'm going to root soon, and there isseemingly is a lot that Fresh Kitchen v1.0.5.3 can do, but using it purely for rooting, how is 1.0.5.3 dissimilar to the manual route? Does it not just automate the manual route through a shell script of sorts?
     
  7. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,863
    Likes Received:
    779

    That's exactly what it does. Some people have a hard time with it though, and find the manual method easier. If you're gonna do it, just be sure you read ALL ABOUT it and know what you're in for. If you get between a rock and a hard place, go to the allthings root threads, and look around. plenty of help there, and plenty of very helpful people also.
    ;)

    EDIT>
    http://androidforums.com/all-things-root-sprint-hero/

    There's the link for ya
     
  8. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,566
    Likes Received:
    86
    Yes, it does it just like that, but what it doesn't do is give you the experience with the code to fix errors that pop up in the future. It also seems that the people that root with the kitchen are the ones in here asking questions and having issues, probably because they don't know how to use the code to fix their issues on their own. Not to mention that the kitchen doesn't work with all ROM's. For example, I'm running DC 2.07.2 at the moment, and I couldn't pull system apps with it last night, so I had to do it manually. The people that rely on the kitchen to do everything simply won't be able to fix things without it.

    It's a good tool, and makes things easier, but it shouldn't be totally relied upon (in my opinion)
     
  9. mslisaj

    mslisaj Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    6
    Thank you gentlemen for all your responses and opinions. Just when I thought Fresh Kitchen was the way to go for me I read these warnings. I just want to root to clear out about five pieces of Sprint junk. The stock 1.50 firmware Rom works for me. While I'm computer literate I don't do code. The last time I did anything like that was typing. DOS commands and that's not code.
    I won't give up though. I'll keep reading and learning but for now it looks like I'm stuck....

    Thanks again.....
    Lisa
     
  10. barnacles

    barnacles Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    406
    Likes Received:
    32
    Manually rooting is very easy as many have said. Simply follow the steps one by one. All it consists of is typing code into the command prompt on your computer while your phone is plugged in. Its as easy as open your browser, copy the code, paste it in command prompt, and repeat.
     
  11. nbenn06

    nbenn06 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    It is really easy. Follow the steps on the guide and just copy and paste the lines. its as simple as that
     
  12. mslisaj

    mslisaj Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    6
    Do I have to have the HTC Sync working on my computer?? I had problems loading that and a couple of Microsoft error messages were generated. But I did manage to get to the finish line with it though. But I don't trust it and don't use it. But if it's as simple as cut and past on the command line on the computer I could probably do that........

    Lisa
     
  13. hakujin

    hakujin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    36

    So no difference in the end, just the process of getting there (manual vs. automated); Difference being in people not understanding how to fix common problems that affect both ways i.e. more equipped to handle it if one goes manual... yes?

    I think I'll just go auto if I do do it, and skip the manual read. Frankly, I think it defeats the point and would rather just avoid it unless needed.

    I could understand problems in there being so many cooked roms out there. Insofar as stock vanilla 1.5 Sprint Hero, and rooting... it should work w/o a hitch no?

    Contemplating it before long, but Since I only just signed up in March, I'm going to continue to give Sprint and HTC benefit of the doubt. I don't wanna root, then upgrade to custom w/ minor quirks, only to downgrade once official comes out. That would be an unnecessary hassle, esp. since we are presumably so close.
     
  14. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,863
    Likes Received:
    779

    I wouldn't skip reading anything. You need to understand what you are doing, and how you are doing it. The sticky will help you. It has links to videos on youtube that really can help you to understand the process.

    Don't just skip steps to save a little time and because it's easier. Manual rooting can be and has been much easier for some.

    Long story short, understand what you're doing to your phone, because if you don't you may have an expensive paperweight.
     
  15. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,566
    Likes Received:
    86
    Then don't come here and ask for help when you have problems in the future :p j/k

    I still say the manual way is the best way to go, because sooner or later you WILL run into an issue or a modification you want to make that requires you to use the shell to do it, and knowing the basics of using it makes it that much easier
     
  16. SamuraiBigEd

    SamuraiBigEd Under paid Sasquatch! Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    4,181
    Likes Received:
    2,088
    I know how to use the shell, I saw Demolition Man!:p
     
  17. hakujin

    hakujin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    36
    That's really the whole point isn't it... to skip steps and save time?
    If fresh kitchen and manual are created equal insofar as rooting (the ONLY thing I'm talking about automating via fresh kitchen), which you seem to be corroborate here in your previous reply, then how would I stand any more (or less) chance of bricking my phone if choosing one over the other? This is not rhetorical.

    I have some familiarity w/ the shell, having tinkered w/ Suse, Ubuntu, and a few other builds in past years; in addition to doing some exercises academically & personally (ls, chmod, cat, pico, apt get, piping,etc.); configuring various files (usplash.conf and menu.lst come to mind). It has been a hot minute, so when an issue should arise, I still see shell being entirely viable. I'm not suggesting the use of fresh kitchen as a be all-end all; rather just for the purpose of rooting my phone so as to install a custom rom in the future (possibly, but as I said, not reasonable to me right now), and maybe do some wifi tethering via android-wifi-tether.

    I guess I don't see the logic in the the possibility of presumably separate issues in the future making the more laborious route of rooting more desirable now.
     
  18. 330D

    330D From My Cold Dead Hands VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,863
    Likes Received:
    779

    If you're looking for speed and don't want/need the practice of the manual root method, then by all means, auto root. I was just suggesting for the experience, to manually root. No worries Dude, whatever works for you!
    :D
     
  19. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,566
    Likes Received:
    86
    And that's all I was advocating, simply for the experience :)
     
  20. mslisaj

    mslisaj Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    6
    Well gentlemen, I started this thread and with the help of one of our fine forum members I got brave last night and manually rooted my phone. It was touch and go as I was so nervous but in reality it went very smoothly. I followed the guide to the letter and it happened as advertised. No hickups or anything. You pro's may get a kick out of this, As I was cutting and pasting the commands and you get to the point where the C:\ prompt changes to a $ sign. Well I have never seen that before in my limited command line usage. I freaked out. I thought I had screwed up something and I was stuck. I was "google talking" to a very helpful member and he reassured me that was the new command prompt for where I was going. Sure enough I kept going with the cut and paste and it went right through everything as smooth as it could be. Right down to the Nandroid backup which I made a copy of on my PC as directed. But I wanted to give you guys that were encouraging me to do it a big thank you!!!! Plus I feel a lot more confident going further with removing bloat ware now that I have a full back up to fall on if I need it.............

    A new rom will come eventually but for now I'm just glad that is over with the rooting. Now I have to get brave enough to use my new Root Explorer application to go after the apps I want to get rid of. I think I'm going to cut and past them to a new folder and keep them just in case I do something wrong. Any ideas on how to do this will be appreciated........

    But I wanted to give feedback to you guys that pushed me to do this and encourage me to do it manually. It worked perfectly...............

    Lisa :D
     
  21. dsavage

    dsavage Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    21
    I'm with you here on this one. I rooted manual, and took a look at fresh kitchen afterward.

    I can't say that you're going to learn any more typing letter for letter a set of cookbook instructions vs. clicking Root in the Kitchen. One just makes your finger a bit more tired for the typing.

    If you're going to learn your phone and it's OS, maybe plan to write apps or just want to know more, then dig in and learn. But, if you just want to get a new ROM on your phone, and there are tools out there that make it easy and safe... that's the way to go.

    It's all about getting to where you want to be. No need to make it harder than it has to be.
     
  22. mslisaj

    mslisaj Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    6
    Well DSavage I couldn't agree more. As they say I don't want a $500 paperweight and besides this Hero gives me a lot of pleasure during the day. But with that said the bloatware that was on the phone really bugged me. Plus with Sprint dragging their feet on an upgrade is a problem too. So I have wanted to root for quite a while. It was quite a process last night as I didn't fully understand the changing of the command lines and when that happened I thought I was finished and bricked the phone. But with the help of a very kind forum member he explained what was going on and I kept going with the root. I'm glad it's over and I'm not going back but I am looking forward to probably DamageControl as my next stop. In my reading and searches I found ROM Manager in the Market. I downloaded it and that program looks like it automates the rom install process the best it can. Unless in my research I find bad feedback on using that program I will use it to take my Hero to the next step. I'm not a programmer but I like to learn new things. So I am staying with this project. The last time I played with a command line was with DOS many years ago. I enjoy that then and this is just taking me back there. But the consequences of a bad command are pretty heavy here but with the Nandroid backup I can recover.............. But wish me luck getting to the next step. I will have certainly earned the right to enjoy and play with my Hero when I am finally finished.............

    Lisa ;)
     
  23. dsavage

    dsavage Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    21
    Sounds like you're doing your homework on this.

    Still, I'd caution people on relying on automated tools unless they have been thoroughly vetted and come from a very reliable source. While automated tools are time savers, since you don't have any visibility to what they are actually doing to your phone, it's easy to "get lost" with no easy recovery.

    I'd be hesitant of what's in the market, since they may well be for a phone other than the Hero, or totally outdated. I'd stick with the more up to date and "tried & true" tools available directly from xda.

    If you can mount your phone (able to read/write your sdcard from your computer) doing a nandroid backup and flashing a new ROM is drop dead simple. I'd recommend at least reading up on those few steps and seeing if you feel comfortable doing it that way.

    Sometimes the easiest way isn't the most automated one.

    Good luck though, whatever your method is. Have fun!
     
  24. dan330

    dan330 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    11,596
    Likes Received:
    3,221
    +1 to the above post...

    :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...