desire and wifi/flight mode ?Support


Last Updated:

  1. dan55

    dan55 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2,944
    Likes Received:
    292
    hi all,

    i just got my desire and was downloading/syncing etc and wanted to make sure i did it over wifi rather than 3g but couldnt seem to get that to work :/ or wasnt sure if i had

    i tried flight mode like iphone but that seem to turn off wifi too - so then tried normal mode and mobile network set to off - this seemed to leave the signal bars showing, so phone not actually off - so does that mean that data is off ?

    cheers
    dan
     

    Advertisement
  2. dan330

    dan330 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    11,602
    Likes Received:
    3,221
    I have the HERO on 2.2.. so i think they are the same.

    1.. make sure you have wifi turned on...
    2.. make sure you have logged on to wifie with your ID and password.
    3. if all is working well, then your phone will auto use Wifi if it is in range and has a lock.
    4. you will see at the top.. a symbol that will tell you which your phone is using at the time. 3G or Wifi.. It can not show both at the same time!
     
  3. Martimus

    Martimus One bite at a time... Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    19,535
    Likes Received:
    4,045
  4. dan55

    dan55 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2,944
    Likes Received:
    292
    thanks guys :)
     
  5. takeshi

    takeshi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    3,354
    Likes Received:
    281
    Are you unable to turn on WiFi after turning on flight mode? My Droid and other Android devices allow this.

    In any case, as stated above, if WiFi is in use it will not use the mobile network.
     
  6. dj.GETAFIX

    dj.GETAFIX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    10
    seems when you turn on flight mode it always turns the wi-fi off...
    i have the wi-fi widget on my screen aswell as the flight mode widget
    so as soon as i turn on flight mode i can click to turn wi-fi on straight away...
    the widgets are found in widgets/settings
    if wi-fi is on then it will always show at the top by the battrie icon and will always use a wi-fi connection first
     

Share This Page

Loading...