Desire Lockscreen


Last Updated:

  1. andy2141

    andy2141 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all first time poster here.. go easy on me!

    Picked up my Desire yesterday sim free after moving from an iPhone 3GS. So far very impressed.

    I have one niggle though that I can see will do my head in..

    I have setup the phone to connect to our Exchange Server at work. All working fine, but we have a policy that requires a pass code to be set on the device. On my iPhone I could simply enter a four digit pin and use this to unlock the phone. On the desire the four digit pin works, but I have to enter it using the full keyboard. This can be a bit of a pain as it's a lot more tricky that quickly tapping in the numbers on a simple screen. Does a simple "keypad" unlock screen exist for Android? Ideally I'm after something like the iPhone unlock or old Windows Mobile screen from years back.

    Thanks in advance. Expect a few more questions over the coming weeks!
     

    Advertisement
  2. davidob

    davidob New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    My Desire has an unlock pattern. Settings Security and check require pattern then create a swipe pattern. If that doesn't suit then you can switch the keyboard to numeric - the 12# button on the bottom right next to the enter key. Hope that's useful
     
  3. cnanthony

    cnanthony Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    2

    Download LockPicker app from the market and you wont even have to enter a passcode;)
     
  4. lekky

    lekky Lover VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    5,252
    Likes Received:
    1,266
    Beat me to it :p
     
  5. andy2141

    andy2141 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks guys.. lockpicker did the trick - brilliant!. Never would have found that on the App Store.

    Cheers.
     
  6. Caspa

    Caspa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    12
    Yep, what would we all do without it eh!?
     
  7. 1981

    1981 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    9
    wat does this app lockpicker do. is it just usefull when connecting to exchange server. can we get rid of the default lockout after the screen turns off after the specified time?
     
  8. Si Pie

    Si Pie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    23
    I use an app called 'No Lock' for that, comes with a handy widget to turn locking on and off too.
     
  9. andy2141

    andy2141 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    If your Exchange server enforces a password policy when connecting from a mobile device, LockPicker basically bypasses the need to have to enter a passcode every time you turn the phone back on or the screen turns off.

    Very simple.. very handy.
     
  10. stueyboy

    stueyboy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    6
    I like the security to unlock the screen but also didn't like the pin code, preferring the pattern unlock. I now use touchdown for my exchange client and it doesn't force the pin code on you so I get the best of both. Also Touchdown is far better than the HTC client. I see that the 2.2 upgrade will have exchange improvements so might change based on this thread. If you use lockpicker, can you still have the pattern unlock?
     
  11. brad-short

    brad-short Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    17
    I've installed lockpicker and now can access Exchange without code. I can confirm i still need to use pattern to access phone.
     
  12. paulcooper

    paulcooper Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    9
    The unlock pattern is really good, make sure you wipe the screen often as it leaves a trace of your finger marks, i am planning to change it weekly or even monthly to deter anyone finding out!
     
  13. BravoLima

    BravoLima Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    2
    I've had the same problem and installed lockpicker. Works well and I no longer need to put in the password just the 'pattern' which I dont mind too much. Only thing now it that I can't see the security setting to enable/disable/change pattern...? Am I missing something?
     
  14. mark buckley

    mark buckley New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello

    Perhaps someone here can help.

    I am a proud owner of HTC an Desire from a couple of days ago. When configuring Exchange Server it asked me for a pin which i am now required to enter every time i switch the phone/screen on. A little annoying but not the end of the world. However I keep seeing this option of entering a screen pattern which sounds perfect. How do I change from entering a code to a pattern, it's defeated me so far.

    Thanks
     
  15. bigthunderkid

    bigthunderkid Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Slightly tangential post, I know, but I also use Setting Profiles in combination with my screen lock. I have set a location profile for my Desire to activate the lock screen only when I'm away from my home or office. I'm sure other apps such as Locale will do something similar.
     
  16. ditkent

    ditkent Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    wait so we can make it so to unlock the phone you can just enter a 4 digit code instead of a pattern? as entering the pattern is a real hassle at times would much prefer a passcode instead....
     
  17. nx1977

    nx1977 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,419
    Likes Received:
    172
    If you use exchange you get a pin, otherwise its a pattern lock.

    There is an app that does away with the pin if annoying you. A forumsearch should find as a common post
     
  18. ditkent

    ditkent Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    after you set up the Exchange ActiveSync, where do you go to setup a pincode to unlock the screen?
     
  19. ditkent

    ditkent Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    anyone? :/
     

Share This Page

Loading...