Desire reboots when I use headphones


Last Updated:

  1. Trito

    Trito Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    So it's 2nd time for me that when I use headphones other then original HTC Desire headphones my phone reboots. I just plug headphones in, start to play music and Desire reboots. It has happened for me two times using differend headphones.
    What could couse this problem?
     

    Advertisement
  2. bobadopalis

    bobadopalis Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    4
    i would like to know as well, i have the same problem. tried using some nokia headphones and whenever i put them in the phone just reboots
     
  3. Trito

    Trito Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I'm not the only one.
    What could be cousing this problem, anyone?
     
  4. robogo

    robogo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    16
    Weird, I used several types of headphones, not one gave me any problems.

    You use the stock Music app?
     
  5. bobadopalis

    bobadopalis Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    4
    ive used a few different ones, stock, double twist, the modified stock one. but it happens as soon as there plugged in with me not when i try to play anything
     
  6. Trito

    Trito Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    I use deffult music player and as bobadopalis sad Desire reboots when I plug my headset in, even before I try to play music.

    Any ideas?
     
  7. MDesire2010

    MDesire2010 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    5
    Weird....I've never come across anything like this before. Closest I've had was my pause/play/skip buttons didn't work once, but I just un/plugged them and it was fine after.
    Aside from factory restoring I've got nothing >.<''
     
  8. Trito

    Trito Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    well I really dont want to factory restart becouse of this.
    Any other ideas that I could try?
     
  9. snowmobile

    snowmobile Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    92
    I wonder if it could be caused by dust or debris in the headphone socket? Not sure how you could clean it though.
     
  10. JayJayW

    JayJayW Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    4
    I've never had that problem but last night I plugged my headphones and the phone refused to recognise them.
    Problem solved by the age-old trick; turning it off and on again.
     
  11. Trito

    Trito Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well I have used 3 headphones that isn't HTC Desire original, and after pluging in two of them Desire restarted, but today I listened to music for about 3h straight with Desire original headphones and everything was ok, I really dont understand why it restarts when using non-original headphones?
     
  12. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,113
    Likes Received:
    1,010
    hmmm, what are the makes of headphones you are using and do they have a remote controll with them?
     
  13. Trito

    Trito Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes they both had controller but without mic!
     
  14. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,113
    Likes Received:
    1,010
    this means they have the extended bit on the end for control
    the way that controll works is by sending shorting signals, its not good to have a remote controll that is not made for the device.

    Try a normal set of headphoens from an mp3 player and see if that works
    if it does then you know what your problem is
     
    Trito likes this.
  15. Trito

    Trito Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok, it seems to work ok, so that's the probelm, thanks :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...