Desperate! Can not flash ROM - E:Can't mount /scard/

Last Updated:

1. CJ0206

CJ0206 Active Member

As you can see from the title I am without a working phone...

I am new to rooting and have no idea what has gone wrong, I used ClockworkMod Recovery v5.0.2.0 and tried to flash ICS ROM (I can't remember it's full name...) and it went wrong...

I backed up my ROM (I think) and it just stopped. I can boot into the recovery but every time I try and "install zip from sdcard" I get the error "E:Can't mount /sdcard/"

My phone is an unbranded HTC Desire on the 3 network (if that makes a difference), PVT4, S-Off, HBOOT 6.93.1002, Radio 5.17.05.23

I rooted using Revolutionary and the instructions HERE

I have no idea what I am doing so if ANYONE can provide the most basic description of what to do please help as I am desperate and need a phone!

Advertisement
  2. CJ0206

CJ0206 Active Member

I've tried 3 SD cards so I know I don't just have a bad card...

If anyone knows how to just reset my phone (to an unrooted state even) I would be more than grateful. As stated before all I can do is boot up into HBOOT and ClockworkMod Recovery at the moment.
  3. shauny13

shauny13 Well-Known Member

You cannot use clockwork mod recovery with pvt4 if your erase size is 40000. Have you checked this first? See faq's.
    Hadron and CJ0206 like this.
  4. CJ0206

CJ0206 Active Member

As the phone will not load past HBOOT or ClockworkMod unfortunately I can not check.
  5. Hadron

Hadron Well-Known Member Contributor

Being unable to mount the card sounds like a USB brick (though that normally doesn't stop you booting into android). There is a guide to fixing these in the All Things Root Guide sticky post in this thread. Being S-Off you may be able to do it just with the 2 fastboot commands at the start of that guide. See the "adb and fastboot faq", linked from the same sticky post, for how to set up fastboot.