Details on Installing Nov OTA to Rooted Incredible


Last Updated:

  1. Bob Denny

    Bob Denny Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    194
    I've gotten a couple of requests for details on installing the November OTA to a rooted Incredible 2.2 S-OFF without wiping the phone and still having root when done. There are a couple of other posts here on this, but they derive from info that has some errors and advises using an old version of Clockwork plus a bogus Superuser file called package_update. The latter is not needed.

    I don't have the patience to type in the info I logged during my install so I just posted it online at my site. Links to the correct Clockwork and Superuser packages are included (I'm hosting them too as they can be really hard to find!).

    Applying November 2010 OTA to STOCK 202/FroYo rooted Incredible
     

    Advertisement
    orillda, omgitswes, jryan727 and 15 others like this.
  2. Bob Denny

    Bob Denny Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    194
    Note that this has links to all of the pieces, including the OTA.
     
  3. Mahalo

    Mahalo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    520
    Likes Received:
    216
    Thanks Bob, do you know any implications for SLCD phones since Clockwork isn't set for it yet? (As far as I know)
     
  4. desperado

    desperado Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    5
    Thanks Bob I knew we could count on you for an improved set of instructions!!
     
  5. dsb9938

    dsb9938 Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    82
    Very well done.

    I know some of the files in mine are out of date, but they are easily updated after, and I know where these are.

    As for the SU thing, I never even noticed, but it won't hurt.

    I removed my steps and just put in a link to yours, thanks for doing it.
     
    Bob Denny and desperado like this.
  6. desperado

    desperado Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    5
    dsb9938, thanks for the original post and info. It was a great start and much appreciated as well.
     
  7. dsb9938

    dsb9938 Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    82
    I spent hours figuring it out, so why not save others the trouble.

    Problem is I feel obligated to help people with issues, and there are so many possibilities. It can be very time consuming and frustrasting. Plus if you can't help people, sometimes they act like you owe them something.

    Oh well, if I helped, I'm glad.

    I'm also very happy this document is here now. LOL
     
    desperado likes this.
  8. thevoiceless

    thevoiceless Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    3
    I made the unwise decision of uninstalling the crap apps without making a backup, is there a place I could re-download the apk's? The only ones I remember removing are Verizion Navigator and CityID, I'm not sure if there were any others. Is there a list of apps that this OTA looks for?
     
  9. Musky

    Musky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,830
    Likes Received:
    369
    Thanks for this guide Bob!

    Maybe it's me, but this seems MUCH more complicated and involved then your original root procedure, and for an OTA that from what I read does nothing beneficial other then a little faster recharging and more bloatware. I personally am going to try the procedure to stop the "nagging" to install the OTA.
     
  10. Eckis

    Eckis New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    The step to put clockwork back on the phone isn't working for me. I copy the file and rename but when I reboot it doesn't apply the zip.
     
  11. laxnkio

    laxnkio New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Bob,

    Followed all your instructions to the T and once the update was installed I rebooted via the cmd, it rebooted a few times following your exact timeline, and now I am in a never ending "HTC quietly brilliant" flashing screen (it never made it to the droid animation sequence).

    Pulled the battery after about a half hour of flashing quietly brilliant, that didn't help. Now if i goto hboot my clockwork is gone. Should I try and install update again? Should I just say screw it and hit the factory default button? Did I completely brick my phone, i have no clue.

    Any ideas would be greatly appreciated.
     
  12. desperado

    desperado Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    5
    Do you have to have the apk and the odex file to restore the bloatware? I thought I did a careful job moving everything to app.disabled however now I can't find VzNav.odex and VZW_Skype.odex.

    Now I thinking maybe there were never there. Do they get generated the first time you launch the apk? Just a thought. If not and I do need them can someone post the bloatware files for download or at least message me the two I need. I can help others get the full set once I get these two.
     
  13. mouse2146

    mouse2146 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    help a newbie out, which steps would be different if I'm using a Mac computer?

    Thanks in Advance, you guys rock!
     
  14. laxnkio

    laxnkio New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    desperado,

    I seem to remember not having those files when I moved all of crapware originally. They weren't in the folder with the apks.

    But then again, I went and restored everything and followed Bob's steps, and now have a brick phone for the moment(im sure i screwed something up, am definitely not blaming him). Trying to find a way out of the quietly brilliant repeating flashes.
     
  15. snoggish

    snoggish Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    5
    Hey all, I'm fairly sure I uninstalled all of the crapware with Titanium Backup, and I didn't back it up. Does anyone know of a way for me to install it all again? I might just try to get rid of the notification...
     
  16. JSS12

    JSS12 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    10

    +1

    NOOB INSTRUCTIONS FOR MAC USERS!!

    (no mac-hater comments necessary)
     
  17. CabezaDeBurro

    CabezaDeBurro New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Eckis, try using a micro SD that has been formatted as FAT32. I was having the same trouble you were and that cleared it up.

    I also thought I'd mention that I did not reinstall some of the original Verizon software and had no trouble manually installing the Nov OTA (I didn't actually find this thread until I had somewhat blindly done the update manually). After manually performing the OTA update, I followed all of the steps listed by Bob and I'm now root'd and up to date.
     
  18. wile_e8

    wile_e8 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    So when I try to apply sdcard:update.zip, I get an error while it is "Verifying the current system..."

    Code (Text):
    1. assert failed: apply_patch_check("system/framework/com.cequint.platform.odex", "random hex number", "different hex number")
    It appears com.cequint.platform.odex is part of the CityID app, and the error is probably due to a difference in a hash sum. I had moved the file to /system/app.disabled/ in order to remove bloatware from the app menu, and moved it back for this update, but I don't know how that would have changed a checksum. Is there any way replace this file or any other way to fix this?
     
  19. Bob Denny

    Bob Denny Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    194
    If you removed bloatware according to some of the bad directions around, (or if you used Titanium "Chuck Norris" and deleted without saving), and you don't have every single thing you zapped, you're hurtin. The most common problem is removing stuff from /system/frameworks and not saving that or forgetting it. EVERYTHING has to be STOCK or the OTA will fail. That's why I put that warning at the top READ MY LIPS SUCKA! :)))

    Yes you have to install Clockwork after applying the OTA. It works if you name the file PB31IMG.ZIP and oput it on the ROOT OF YOUR SD. Next time you get into HBOOT it will install it.

    If you think you bricked it, try again to get Clockwork installed. It's so simple. Once you get that, restore your nandroid backup. Heaven help you if you didn't back up your phone with Clockwork before starting this.
     
    wile_e8 likes this.
  20. Kubla

    Kubla Active Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    First, Bob, I want to thank you for putting this together and sharing it. Second, I have a couple of questions before I start this proceedure. I am rooted,running Version 2.2 Android with only the splash screen changed, and some bloatware removed.

    1. You wrote "Make a copy of the OTA.." Is the one from Google the same as the download one? Do I have to disable Astro?

    2. On your item 9 you say "DO NOT ALLOW IT TO GO TO apply sdcard:update.zip."
    Is that something that will appear and execute if I don't stop it and catch it before it executes? Or just be careful?

    3.In your opinion is the update very necessary or can I wait for the next full update? I was antsy doing the Rooting and I don't want to brick my phone. I am happy as it is.

    Thank you again and I really appreciate the help on these Forums.
     
  21. Bob Denny

    Bob Denny Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    194
    @dsb9938, I hope you saw that I thanked you for giving me the courage to try it!!!!
     
  22. bluemsw

    bluemsw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    6
    What can someone do that did the delete of the crap files. I used titanium to back them up and the master manager to do the back ups too but both programs failed to reinstall the apk.'s Please help.
     
  23. wile_e8

    wile_e8 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I made a /system/app.disabled/ directory and moved all the bloatware to it. Since you said we need everything stock, I moved it back to /system/app/ and deleted the app.disable folder. If it's still complaining about the app files even though they are copies of the stock original, am I pretty much SOL until the November updates get unrevoked?

    EDIT: Never mind, I just need to pay attention to your most common problem. The com.cequint.platform.odex belongs in /system/framework/, not /system/app/.
     
  24. feelfreetoblameme

    feelfreetoblameme Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Great set of instructions, thank you. For the two people above asking for help because they are Mac users, I did all this on my MacBook without much of an issue (at least so far). The main difference between Mac and Windows that I've seen is getting into the adb shell on a Mac. I'm not sure how to do that or whether it is even possible. I've tried getting into the adb shell on my Bootcamp Windows partition but haven't had any luck. I haven't really needed to use the shell however because any moving/deleting of files that I've needed to do I just did with Root Explorer. I had saved the crapware files on my SD card and moved them back. This list from jonamerica Howto: Root the HTC Droid Incredible - Technology - Jonamerica.com (scroll down to Remove Bloat section) was quite helpful both in knowing what crapware I was removing and where from and now, when this OTA was bugging me, in restoring it before following the rest of Bob's instructions. I am now back up and running, loaded up with Verizon crapware, but rooted.
     
    theboylos likes this.
  25. irishjoeyo

    irishjoeyo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    30
    Bob,

    Thank you for posting these instructions. I'm having a little trouble getting started, though. The first step says to disable Tasker, etc., but how do I perform Tasker > Off and the other sub-steps listed there?
     

Share This Page

Loading...