1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

Developers - screen shot app sans root! Please!


Last Updated:

  1. HumanContract

    HumanContract Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is it just an impossibility to do? I have no idea about these things, but I guess if it is possible it would have been done already, no?

    I haven't taken the plunge to root, and not sure if I will...and the instructions for screen shot on Droid are basically chinese to me because I have no skill when it comes to this sorta thing.

    I just want an app that will take a screenshot without root =[

    People like me would pay for an app like this. You could make killer money guys, come on!
     

    Advertisement
  2. jimdroid

    jimdroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    805
    Likes Received:
    106
    I believe it is a security violation; hence the need to root.

    you can take screenshots of an unrooted phone using the android development environment.
     
  3. HumanContract

    HumanContract Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks, maybe one day when I have lots of brain power I'll try it out, lol.
     
  4. KlaymenDK

    KlaymenDK Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,217
    Likes Received:
    130
    I'm using "PicMe" and "ShootMe", one does screen shots and the other does (very low fps) screen casts via a web server (I can never remember which is which though! :p).

    Anyway, I played around with these before rooting my phone and they worked just fine! :D I don't know if you have the same luck, but it's worth a shot...
     
    ILoveMyDroid likes this.
  5. badfrog

    badfrog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    10
    I followed these instructions and got it figured out rather quickly.

    when you connect your phone, make sure it is in sync mode, not charge or mount.
    also, I just installed all the available packages.
    you may need to change it to force https to http (under settings tab/misc)

     
  6. HumanContract

    HumanContract Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0

    Thank you! I will def try them out, I was under the impression all those apps were for rooted phones only. Can't thank you enough!


    Update
    Yeah totally doesn't work without root...the more I read the more I wanna root, but I'm shakin in mah boots ;[
     
  7. KlaymenDK

    KlaymenDK Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,217
    Likes Received:
    130
    Sorry to hear it didn't work for you ... I didn't know why it worked for me in the first place. The security model on Android is really a pain, and it's not very elegantly thought out. But then I come from the wide-open PalmOS where rooting wasn't required and on-the-fly backups just worked. (Good times... :eek:)

    Can I ask, what are you afraid of? I don't mean to be any kind of condescending, but trying to understand.

    I don't know how rooting works on the Droid (I'm sure the rooting forum knows), but on my Galaxy it's an extreeemely easy and risk-free process! Here's a thought: try to find some threads from people who've bricked their phones by rooting ... I can't recall seeing any.
     
  8. badfrog

    badfrog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    10
    the method I posted and does work, and doesn't mess with your phone any.
    it seems a little daunting at first, but once you figure it out, it's all cake from there.
     
    HumanContract likes this.
  9. HumanContract

    HumanContract Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0

    Well, I've had the Droid for about 2-3 weeks now and have been reading about rooting more and more the past couple days. I am pretty sure I will eventually do it, I just want to make sure I'm well prepared and know what I'm doing and have read all the necessary info about it.

    I am basically happy with my phone, I mean it's awesome! But just hearing about all this root talk makes me think it must be worth it. I do wish however that I was a little more savvy in the tech department it would definitely help with my confidence lol, all of the lingo I read kinda makes my head spin so I'm just reading and re-reading until I feel more comfy.

    Thanks for your help and support, I will definitely let ya know how it goes once I do root =]
     
  10. KlaymenDK

    KlaymenDK Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,217
    Likes Received:
    130
  11. dmodert66

    dmodert66 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,553
    Likes Received:
    221
  12. (G)

    (G) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    746
    Likes Received:
    47
    Right. But I posted the link and the topic last night. :D

    I'm no tech wizard, but I got it to work within about 10 minutes... no fuss, no muss. Pretty simpy.
     
  13. lemodular

    lemodular Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Home ++ will do this, at least when I used it.

    no root, no SDK
     
  14. just_jess

    just_jess New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  15. kevin@teslacoilsw

    kevin@teslacoilsw VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    130
    Plug the phone into the computer and make sure Settings > Applications > Development > USB Debugging is on.

    On your Mac open Applications/Utilities/Terminal.app and run:
    ~/android-sdk-mac_86/tools/ddms

    (Assuming you put the android-sdk-mac_86 directory in your home directory, if it's on your desktop then ~/Desktop/android-sdk-mac_86/tools/ddms)

    This will bring up the DDMS console and you can do Menu > Device > Screen Capture.
     

Share This Page

Loading...