device specific questions - Samsung Epic

Last Updated:

1. enterusername

enterusername New Member This Topic's Starter

Hi,

I'm new to Android so please bear with me.

Although I've been searching for a few days for the answers to my questions, I've still come up empty handed. Hopefully, you guys can help me.

I'm thinking of getting an Epic on August 31st.

I will use the phone for business first and the multimedia capabilities come second.

I know the Epic is the Sprint variation of the Galaxy S series. So hopefully someone here with experiences on device variants have answers.

With that, does anyone know if the Epic will/is:

1) have a time and date stamp on text messages
    2) have on-device screen shot capable (without having to http://tinyurl.com/yhcmkgt)*
    3) support multiple EAS accounts*
    4) allow calendar events for multiple profiles appear on one calendar view? (eg: work 1 is blue, work 2 is red, personal is green etc)
    5) allow remote wipe
    6) will record phone calls
    7) have the ability to delete or hide stock apps
    8) allow forwarding of emails without stripping attachments
    9) not cap email attachments size
    10) play wav email attachments (this is the format of my work voicemail - wav to email)

**I heard I have to get Froyo 2.2 to support multiple EAS accounts (w/o having to buy Touchdown) but I also heard that breaks the ShootMe app.

After reading up on Roms, I understand that I can flash another Rom to the device. But I also understand that I am, for the most part, stuck with the tweaks on that Rom.

Is there is a plain Rom that I can load with all these above features as default? That I can further tweak to personalize for myself?

I am not that interested in apps (games, social networking), just utilities.

I am coming from a Palm Pre. Except for #6, all the above listed features are on my Pre so not having the basics on any new phone would be a make or break for me.

Thanks very much.

Advertisement