df -h wtfSupport


Last Updated:

  1. Andronix

    Andronix Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    676
    Likes Received:
    16
    could anyone tell me which device sits behind mtdblock* partitions? don't tell me it's ram.


    # df -h
    Filesystem Size Used Available Use% Mounted on
    tmpfs 46.9M 0 46.9M 0% /dev
    tmpfs 4.0M 0 4.0M 0% /sqlite_stmt_journals
    /dev/block/mtdblock1 87.5M 87.5M 0 100% /system
    /dev/block/mtdblock2 1.3M 1.1M 120.0k 91% /userdata
    /dev/block/mmcblk0p1 944.9M 130.4M 804.9M 14% /data
    /dev/block/mtdblock5 35.8M 1.6M 34.2M 4% /dbdata
    /dev/block/mtdblock4 87.5M 4.9M 82.6M 6% /cache
    /dev/block/vold/180:2
    6.6G 2.7G 3.8G 41% /sdcard
    /dev/block/vold/179:9
    7.6G 1.5G 6.1G 19% /sdcard/sd
    #
     

    Advertisement
  2. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,113
    Likes Received:
    1,010
    i dont know, but that looks like ram to me

    the phone only has 128mb ram aswell lol
     
  3. gie62001

    gie62001 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    25
    wow so what about previous posts claiming that there should be around 196mb or ram?
    say its only 128mb ram are we going to be affected by that? say not being able to play 3d games or even say compass is slow coz of lack of ram?
     
  4. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,113
    Likes Received:
    1,010
    someone did some checks early when i made this statement last week as people believed it to be 192 but they found it was 128

    dont know why samsung have done that or what implication it has as most devices for android now house 288

    people made assumptions on what the hardware was as most if it is similar to the g1/dream

    gsm arena and many other sites also show this as being 128mb ram
     
  5. kam187

    kam187 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,320
    Likes Received:
    46
    Hmm no it is 192mb. There's 128mb ram external to the MSM die, and 64mb internal to it. I don't know how whoever it was checked, but maybe they only saw the 128mb bit.

    Its _definatly_ 192mb, i've checked myself.
     
  6. Andronix

    Andronix Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    676
    Likes Received:
    16
    what is caching used for if not keeping libs in RAM? preload all of them when you're already low on resources doesnt sound like good idea.

    i've seen many distros, back when 64mb ram was very much and never seen anything like that.
     
  7. pegasus21

    pegasus21 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    1
    According to /proc/self/mountinfo

    This seems to suggest that mtdblock1, 2, 4 and 5 are part of the flash that the system uses to store the os on (As suggested by the naming convention). This is separate from the 8gb built-in memory. So there is no ram mount here.
     

Share This Page

Loading...