DI18 Update: Android Market missing apps?


Last Updated:

  1. Charles C

    Charles C Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    15
    One side effect I've noticed from the recent update: it seems like some apps are just gone from the Android Market. The one I know for sure is the MLB.com At Bat 2010 app. AppBrain still lists it (in fact, it shows that it got a price drop about 10 hours ago), but scanning the QR code, searching for it in the Android Market, even trying to install it from AppBrain all lead to the same thing: The item could not be found.

    I don't know if this is happening with other apps or not. I do know for sure that the MLB.com At Bat 2010 app was there before the update as I was trying to decide whether I was justified in spending the money to listen to the playoff games at work. But now it's just gone without a trace.

    Anyone else notice this or other apps missing?
     

    Advertisement
  2. colburnr

    colburnr Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yep... I noticed the same thing. I am also having issues connecting to 4G now.
     
  3. Charles C

    Charles C Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    15
  4. colburnr

    colburnr Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cool....Thanks Charles
     
  5. Dr_Gibberish

    Dr_Gibberish Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    3
    I am also missing 8 apps. I have heard this happens with paid apps but I am missing a combination of paid and free, and have also been able to download a number of my paid apps.

    FYI, I had problems with the update (locked up my phone) and I had to factory reset and try to reinstall everything, otherwise I would not have noticed them missing.
     
  6. Charles C

    Charles C Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    15
    I think rather than paid, it has to do with whether or not the app is "protected" (does that mean by DRM or something else? That I'm not sure of). I've read of people having experiences like yours, various apps just not there, seemingly without a unified reason except being "protected"
     
  7. nchargreed

    nchargreed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    12
    I also noticed missing apps from the market after the update prior to this one. I was advised by a forum member to "Give it a few days, they'll show back up"... and....they did
     
  8. Charles C

    Charles C Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    15
    I hope "a few days" means tomorrow, Game 1 of the ALDS starts at 1:37 PM EST and I need to be able to listen at work :)
     
  9. nchargreed

    nchargreed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    12
    :) I think I noticed the missing apps were back about day 5 or 6...so depending on when you got the update...good luck with that
     
  10. nchargreed

    nchargreed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    12

    why was it necessary to reinstall everything? weren't your apps backed up to your google account? I ask because I've never had to use the google back up and it makes me nervous. Phones that I've had previously were backed up to my PC and an SD card. Don't know how much I trust this google thing.
     
  11. rasa

    rasa Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ughhh yeah having this problem too. I had it with my Hero 2 phones ago. Frustrating! The single most useful app I use, Pure Calendar (Agenda) is missing. I installed it as soon as I activated the phone, then got the DI18 update, had to do a factory reset after that to fix the LED notification not working, andddd... Pure Calendar is missing. It's only apps that the developer marked as "protected". Last time I think I just waited and it sorted itself out but man, it's the app I use the most!

    I forget if I tried to just get the .apk and install that, but even trying to DL it using a QR code or the URL for the developer's site doesn't work.
     
  12. Dr_Gibberish

    Dr_Gibberish Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    3
    Doesn't work that way. A record of the apps you bought is backed up to your google account but not the apps themselves. Your contacts, calendar etc ARE backed up. When you factory reset you have to log in with your google account, then redownload your apps, then restore your data. Also a lot of the other data (Text messages, call logs, data from other apps) is NOT stored. However there are backup apps available in the market that handle some of this.
     
  13. nchargreed

    nchargreed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    12
    hmmm...thats interesting....so when you factory reset, and go into your google account, is it just a list of apps and you have to go back into the market to download them, or can you reinstall straight from your google account. I am aware that the settings and data within those apps are not backed up and I have a market app for that.
     
  14. Dr_Gibberish

    Dr_Gibberish Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    3
    I dont think I was quite clear. The only way to download them is from the market. You log into the market with your google ID and then when the market comes up, go to the "downlaods" section and your PAID apps will show up. All your free apps are NOT there.

    Actually I have used AppBrain market to reinstall several times. It keeps a list of ALL your apps, which at least helps you remember what you had, but then you still need to re-download them one by one. (If you have not used AppBrain it is worth looking into.)

    A lot of the backup programs will backup your free apps and you CAN re-install them that way. For example Astro File Manager has a backup function and it will restore all your apps. However, the one big problem with doing this is that you will no longer get notifications of updates to those apps in the market anymore. Not sure why, but it is what it is. The only way you seem to get update notifications is if you install through the market (or through app brain which just directs you to the market page for each app as you reinstall them.)

    Not sure that was any clearer, but I tried... :)
     
    rasa and nchargreed like this.
  15. nchargreed

    nchargreed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    12
    Perfect explanation! Thanks :)...the unknown is just difficult. Until your explanation I worried about how things would work if I had to replace my phone or do a factory reset. Currently, I'm using MyBackupPro, which is supposed to back up my apps and data. But until I have to do it, I won't have first hand experience.
     
  16. Psyclone

    Psyclone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    6
    I'm having the same issue and was scratching my head with no idea what it could be attributed to. The new FW update makes sense. I only noticed today because I did a reset to be able to sync the gallery with Picasa.

    After I installed all of my free apps I did a sync with appbrain, noticed I had a couple paid that I hadn't installed yet, went to install them and no go. The funny thing is, it's not all of my paid apps, I am able to install some of them, there's just a few that I can't even locate on the market via a search, I can locate the lite versions, just not the paid ones. I guess I'll give it a few days...
     
  17. hydralisk

    hydralisk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    21
    It's a DRM issue. Apps listed as being "protected" will not show up for unknown devices on the market. Since our latest update, our Epic has become an "unknown device" and Google has to make this change on their end.

    They're being f**king asstardedly slow about it....
     
  18. Charles C

    Charles C Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    15
    First day of playoff games is over and the Android Market still thinks we have evil black market phones, so no MLB app for me. I have my doubts that it'll be there by game time today either. This is something Google really needs to change / fix / streamline.
     
  19. daddyd302

    daddyd302 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    91
    My paid app, homerun is missing since the update. I'm mad as hell as I played that game alot.....

    I also noticed the Samsung car dock and desk dock are missing as well. It's not on the market anymore.
     
  20. rasa

    rasa Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, it has nothing to do with whether an app is free or paid, it's if the app is protected/DRM'd or not. Still waiting for a fix. Boo!
     
  21. KoukiFC3S

    KoukiFC3S Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Messages:
    881
    Likes Received:
    85
    Fixed for me.
     
  22. Keybeeetsss

    Keybeeetsss Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    459
    Likes Received:
    48
  23. rasa

    rasa Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    ARGH annoying! I can see them now, but can't download them from the market, just hangs on "starting download". Rebooting isn't helping.
     
  24. njbianco

    njbianco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    8
    make sure your signed into Google Talk and clear the cache for the market and it should work after that



    anyways i can finally see protected apps again :)
     
    rasa likes this.
  25. rasa

    rasa Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had to unmount and remount the SD card, weird. Works now though!
     

Share This Page

Loading...