Dial pad by default? (outgoing)


Last Updated:

  1. teknomedic

    teknomedic Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    1
    Is there a setting, app, etc. that will make the "dial pad" show by default when I make a phone call?

    Basically, there are few numbers I dial that use an automated system and I'm required to press certain numbers to continue and I grow tired of selecting the number pad myself.

    It's not as important on incoming calls, but would be nice there as well I guess.

    thanks for any info,
    tk.
     

    Advertisement
  2. ejchis

    ejchis Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    7
    I would appreciate this setting too. Even just for pressing "1" when I get someone's voicemail. I would prefer to have the dialpad up when I make a call.
     
  3. teknomedic

    teknomedic Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    1
    TBH, that's the main reason I want it too... for voice mail, but there are a few other places I call that require me to use the dial pad.

    Hope someone can help us....
     
  4. teknomedic

    teknomedic Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    1
    my final bump.
     
  5. brnr17

    brnr17 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    17
    there's an app in the market but i can't remember the name of it right now.
    edit : "not call log" is the name of it.
     
  6. teknomedic

    teknomedic Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    1
    thanks!... I'll check it out and see how it works and report back. :)
     
  7. teknomedic

    teknomedic Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    1
    close, but not what I'm looking for (unless I'm missing some setting).

    What "not call log" does is put you almost anywhere you want to be AFTER a call is ended using the "end" button. So if you want to "kill" to the home screen or end up at the dial pad or even load another program that's what this will do.

    It's seems like a great little app and I'm sure to keep it installed.


    What I really need though is once a call is CONNECTED... instead of that "caller ID screen" (with the picture ID) coming up, I want the phone to bring up the dial pad... that way when I call my voice mail or any number of customer service lines I don't have to press "dial pad" first, but can just start hitting the numbers as the voice prompts spit them out.

    Basically, if I'm calling someone... I know who I'm calling so I don't need the caller ID screen once the call is connected anyway.... and if someone is calling me, I only need the caller ID screen BEFORE the call is connected. Once connected the dial pad is what I want displayed.


    Any thoughts??
     
  8. CaptainRon

    CaptainRon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,253
    Likes Received:
    1,236
    I agree it would make more sense to have the keypad automatically pop up for outbound calls, but as a work around for phone calls that I know the numbers I need to press I place them in the phone number using commas for a 2 second pause.

    For example for voicemail I changed the number to
    *86,123456,1

    That string dials my voicemail, pause, inputs my password, pause, then inputs 1 to listen to new messages. If you need longer pauses put in multiple commas. I have another call that is more complex, but it still works.

    800-555-5555,123456*11111#,1,5
     
  9. brnr17

    brnr17 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    17
    ohh ok . sorry about that... i got what u lookin for now
     
  10. OlManRivah

    OlManRivah Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    4
    I agree. This would help, considerably, the short comings of the Droid. I don't think there is an ap to help us....:mad:
     
  11. deftdrummer

    deftdrummer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    11
    dialer one guys! ??
     
  12. teknomedic

    teknomedic Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    1

    This is a good tip for places you know the "pattern", thanks. :) I bet it sucks when they update their systems code entries though, lol. I'll have to use this tip for my frequent numbers. :)

    Could still use an app to do the main request though. ;)
     

Share This Page

Loading...