Dialing options?Support


Last Updated:

  1. JJBlade

    JJBlade Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Having come from an HTC Hero I am struggling with my dialing options? Previously if I wanted to dial Martin I could just tap 627 on the keypad and the option was there.

    Now with the Nexus one do I really have to scroll through all my contacts to find the correct person? Surely this is very laborious and slow.

    Making a speed dial seems a bit silly as well as there are so many people in my contact list.

    So any suggestions?
     

    Advertisement
  2. oniongirl

    oniongirl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    563
    Likes Received:
    9
    Once you're in the contact list, if you hold the menu softkey til the keyboard appears, you can type their name in there, but I don't know of a way to enable using the phone keypad to dial the number representations of the names, sorry.

    Actually, what's stranger is that you can pull the qwerty keyboard up on the actual dialling screen and type letters into it just fine, but it'll just directly translate the letters into numbers. That is a little irritating.

    I'm off to find that Google dev board with the star-able suggestions.
     
  3. JJBlade

    JJBlade Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cheers Oniongirl. I find it very frustrating but thats to be expected as each new phone always has some small foible over the last.

    I see you are in the UK to. Notts for me and these things are as rare as rocking horse shit up here.
     
  4. oniongirl

    oniongirl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    563
    Likes Received:
    9
    Yeh, I haven't seen anyone with one. The only two people I know who even know about the phone are my boyfriend and his pal, and the latter won't let me show it off because he's just bought his own phone to be excited about. No one gets it :D
     
  5. rubi76

    rubi76 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    22
    I use STARCONTACT. It's free and with good options.
     
  6. jcmtyler

    jcmtyler Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    12
    I purchased aTAKEphONE for like $3, as a replacement for the stock dialer. Among many other cool features it includes this ability to look up contacts by hitting the number keys corresponding to the letters in their name, T9-style.
     
  7. JJBlade

    JJBlade Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0

    Perfect !

    This is exactly what I was after. Cheers
     

Share This Page

Loading...