Did I root successfully?

Last Updated:

1. duratime

duratime Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

I followed the instructions to root to one of Joey's kernels. I was just hoping for some increase battery life. Did I do it correctly? My phone has this in the "about phone" section:

Baseband Version S:M900.8.OS.CL14
    Kernel Version: 2.6.27
    Build Number: joeykrim SDX Final 1.9.5

Does that look correct? The phone works the same as it did before. It is really fast, but it always seemed fast to me (came from a Pre:D). Is there anything I should expect or explore? I'm really new at this rooting thing. Also, for anyone that wants to install a custom kernel, it was super easy (assuming I did it correctly). Thanks for the help.

Advertisement
  2. ragingbull2k2

ragingbull2k2 Well-Known Member

you are root... congrats! just keep on browsing the sdx forums to keep on learning stuff... also check out how to load custom themes, how to delete stock apps you don't use that keep on popping up, etc etc...

Joey

coldstatic and duratime like this.
  3. dib.1138

dib.1138 Member

:eek::Dyes congrats! you are root, as am I... lol it only took me a week of frustration before I found the right combo of things to try, drivers, and the right suggestions from the awesome crew here!

4. duratime

Thanks. I think I got lucky. Started reading about the rooting at like 3:30 and it was rooted at about 4. The part the really surprised me is that it took less the 30 seconds to actually download to the phone. I figured that I must have done something wrong.

5. numus

numus Banned

Wait till you try the kernel flashing via applying zip in max's recovery :) takes about 5-10 seconds to flash the kernel..

6. dib.1138

dib.1138 Member

i was gonna try that after i play with joey's 1.9.5 for a bit! lol

7. ragingbull2k2

ragingbull2k2 Well-Known Member

seriously, it's stupid how easy it is... takes longer to boot the phone after the fact than actually flashing :D

Joey

8. meangene