Differences R2BA026?Support


Last Updated:

  1. Mxtc

    Mxtc Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    9
    so far, this is what I found:
    • They added the creatouch app
    • The volume is a lot louder if you play a video in MediaScape
    • No more PlayNow app (maybe beause I'm in the USA)
     

    Advertisement
  2. Gurba

    Gurba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    13
    Did you upgrade via SEUS og have you rooted?
     
  3. ljstrawson

    ljstrawson Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    im still on R2BA020 dont wona try again incase i lose everything again.
     
  4. rosered

    rosered VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,129
    Likes Received:
    317
    If you use Sony Ericsson Update SErvice it gives you two options if the update is actually available to you. The first does nothing to all your data/settings etc but does update the phone. The second option does a factory reset and update which obviously loses you stuff.

    The PC Companion route kept telling me that I was upto date, but in fact I was able to go from R1..016 to R2..023 then to R2..026 using the update service instead.
     
  5. manxape

    manxape Active Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    3
    One major difference I have noticed is that the wifi keeps dropping in and out. I know it's the phone because it works perfectly fine on all my laptops. I am not impressed.
     
  6. greenhornetuk

    greenhornetuk Active Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    2
    my playnow and creatouch disappeared when i updated.
     
  7. sleepless

    sleepless Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    16
    My playnow and creatouch is still there (UK Tmobile)
     
  8. virtua

    virtua New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Still Available in India Too...
     
  9. Mxtc

    Mxtc Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    9
    @Gurba -I used the PC Companion to update (not SEUS). Phone is not rooted. I didn't loose my settings or data. This is a more updated version of PC Companion that you can download from the website.
    .
    @Manxape - Haven't had any issues with WI-FI going out. Maybe the developers changed something to save battery life? Let them know so they can release a fix.
     
  10. spark001uk

    spark001uk Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    7
    Just gone up to 026, just started testing differences from 023 - which i might add wasn't brought out long ago so they've obviously rushed it out to put right something major, which possibly could've been the thing i first noticed- which is that they seem to have fixed the double swipe issue when answering a call, which to me was a HUGE bug in R2BA023 - it made it so that you had to swipe twice to answer a call; once to get past the unlock screen, and then again to answer the call, and what's more when the phone rang all you saw was the unlock screen, you had to do the first swipe before you even knew who was ringing!! It got worse though- if you had the phone on silent, you wouldn't even KNOW there was an incoming call at all !!!
    So you'll be pleased to know R2BA026 has put that right.

    The alarm silencing is still at 1 min, which i think is way too short, or should be adjustable. The alarm is in effect dismissed completely unless you snooze it within 1 min. (used to be about 10 min before R2BA023 came out). SE said to me on the phone it was done in response to customer feedback. So obviously they think everyone in the country can respond to their alarm within one minute!!!
    Anyone else think that's crazy??
     
  11. Gurba

    Gurba Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    13
    Ok. My phone is rooted so I guess I won't be updating until somthing major comes along such as 2.1/2.2. :)
     
  12. dibberly

    dibberly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    15
    just updated to this FW via SEUS but i have no creatouch???

    i have playnow but not creatouch....not that i am too bothered!!
     
  13. wynney666

    wynney666 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    34
    my air update told me it was uptodate and was actally 20
    plugged in pc comp updated to 26
    im virgin mobile uk, have no play now or creatouch but in all honesty i cant say if i had them before anyway.
     
  14. ankh

    ankh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    8
    Hi all. Im unable to get this update for my x10. Does anyone know why this is? Everytime I plug my phone in it says that the software is upto date when it isnt
     
  15. palace35mm

    palace35mm Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    Try the update service not the PC COmpanion and you should be able to update it then.
     
  16. ankh

    ankh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    8
    Ive tried it through my phone now and it still says I have the latest version. Is there anywhere else? Im new to all this btw.
     
  17. dibberly

    dibberly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    15
    update service = Sony Ericsson Update Service (S.E.U.S.) via the PC, not over the air

    PC companion is something completly different
     
  18. Mxtc

    Mxtc Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    9
    1. Which Carrier are you on?
    2. Which version (Build Number) are you on (Go to Settings - About Phone)

    At least with the more current updates, if you go to "Software Update", it will either tell you to update over the air, or it will say that you have to connect it to the computer to update
     
  19. ankh

    ankh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    8
    Im on Orange and im on R2BA020.
    Ive tried updating with the update service and still says I have the latest software.
     
  20. Mxtc

    Mxtc Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    9
    Three thoughts
    1. For some reason the update service would always say 'latest software' . Instead... I downloaded a new version (of Sony Ericsson PC Companion 2.0) from the Sony Ericsson website.
    .
    2. Have you tried going on your phone, into the settings, and then go to Software update - update now?
    .
    3. If all doesn't work, go to an Orange store and ask the rep if there is an update available. Maybe the carrier hasn't chosen to release an update yet since R2BA020. (Anyone else on Orange?)
     
  21. ankh

    ankh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    8
    Ive tried the sony site, tried it through the software update on the phone and I havent gone to Orange yet but I will do at some point.
     
  22. androidrulez

    androidrulez Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    1
    I am on Orange UK as well and I have the same issue.
    My phone's software is also R2BA020 and everytime I try to update (have tried OTA, Phone Companion and SEUS) it says I have the latest software.

    I was just googling for this and came here :D

    I will try to ask at an Orange store tomorrow.
     
  23. hal752

    hal752 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    6
    Orange are on R2BA020. Theres no update unless you debrand your phone. You could ask them if theres going to be a update to R2BA026. But Dont expect much more than a funny look
     
  24. androidrulez

    androidrulez Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    1
    Damn, doesn't sound to good.
    Hope they will not mess around when the Update to 2.1 is around the corner:mad:
     
  25. hal752

    hal752 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    6

    Thats what they maybe waiting for, Skip all updates and go straight for 2.1, That or they simply CBA, It took o2 3 months to realse a single update for the x10. I use to work for them and heard nothing about it till realsed. Mind you I was only repairs and returns..

    Im not to sure why people debrand. It may void the warrenty with the provided. But it wont with SE. Who the provider send the phone of to anyway
     

Share This Page

Loading...