Disable fallback to 1x...


Last Updated:

  1. Ice Nine

    Ice Nine Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does anyone know if there's a way to disable fallback to 1x/1xRTT from 3G? I basically want 3G or nothing.

    Thanks in advance if anyone knows the answer to this :)

    -k
     

    Advertisement
  2. vincentp

    vincentp Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,640
    Likes Received:
    59
    Strange request, but I imagine if this is even possible you would have to find it in the programming menus.
     
  3. Ice Nine

    Ice Nine Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I took a look in the service menu while I was in there changing the vocoder and didn't see anything (obvious) that would let me disable 1X.

    The reason I want to do it is simple - I stream a lot of internet radio and when it drops down to 1X I get lots of stuttering as you would expect. I know that there's enough 3G signal end-to-end on my commute to stream without interruption. My Aircard had the same fallback problem, but in its menus it allowed me to disable fallback.

    I'm hoping there's a way to do this in the Droid... I know it's doable on the 3GS via jailbreaking with sbsettings.
     
  4. Ice Nine

    Ice Nine Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Looks like it's possible!

    On the keypad, type: *#*#4636#*#*

    Then go into Phone Info (topmost option) and select "EVDO only".

    I'll see how that works :)

    Update: Sure enough, that did the trick. Absolutely no fallbacks or stutters/gaps on my commute home!

    -k
     
  5. longdaddy

    longdaddy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    10
    You do know since you did this you wont be able to make/receive calls right just pointing that out
     
  6. Ice Nine

    Ice Nine Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, I noticed that on my way home. So much for that idea. Worked great for data though!
     
  7. f12

    f12 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    1
    sorry to bump this, but im also curious on this, because i want 3g or nothing but would like to still make calls any one else know??
     
  8. Ice Nine

    Ice Nine Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    It doesn't appear possible at the moment.
     

Share This Page

Loading...