Disabling sound when switched on ?


Last Updated:

  1. Mike777

    Mike777 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all

    When the desire is first switched on it makes a loud sound as the second screen comes up.

    Is there any way of switching this off.......as last time I switched it on at 0500 am in bed it woke the whole house up :eek:

    Thanks and regards

    Mike
     

    Advertisement
  2. Desire D

    Desire D Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    8
  3. madnlooney

    madnlooney Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    14
    yes there is. you need to grab a virtual terminal emulator like connectbot from market and use this command

    cp /system/media/bootanimation.zip /data/local/


    This copies the standard boot animation to the location where custom animations can be put. This silences the animation, as the mp3 is not copied to the same location.


    some of the silent apps, put your phone into silent mode before it switches off so the volume doesnt play. The problem with this is if you take battery out then put it back in before turning it on the volume will be back on
     
    KlaymenDK likes this.
  4. Unfriendly

    Unfriendly Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    11
    You need root for this right madlooney?
     
  5. frostydub

    frostydub Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    2
    simple method: if you put it on silent before you turn it off, it doesnt make a sound when you turn it back on.
     
  6. ukzen

    ukzen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    12
    Mine makes no sound when switched on, just a quick vibrate ,even when the T-Mob logo comes on ,dunno why.
     
  7. EmperorKabir

    EmperorKabir Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    8
    a shrill bell? it's prob loading the SD card or something. This happens on my rooted desire. May be something to do with the type of SD card you use, and the firmware you are using.
     
  8. madnlooney

    madnlooney Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    14
    Im not sure

    but will put volume back on if you disconnect battery for any reason
     
  9. KlaymenDK

    KlaymenDK Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,217
    Likes Received:
    130
    Tip: Anything that goes on outside of /sdcard is not accessible usless you're root. So yes, you need to be rooted to be able to run that command (without getting an error :rolleyes:). Oh, remember to run "su" in your console first, to actually perform this command as root.

    Imma gonna try that immediately, as I absolutely loathe boot sounds, splash screens, and other such fluff! Thanks for the tip.
     
    Unfriendly likes this.
  10. frostydub

    frostydub Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    2
    Simple method No. 2: Same as above but don't disconnect the battery :p
     
    madnlooney likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...