Do any custom ROMs NOT break something.


Last Updated:

  1. Aaron91RS

    Aaron91RS Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    5
    Every ROM out there seems to breaks something whether it be the camera or 4g or bluetooth or something else. Even the stock rooted ROM has a disclaimer to flash a new custom rom because the rooted stock one isn't perfect.

    Is this just an android thing in general that all these custom ROMs have certain tradeoffs where something gets messed up?

    *I'm sure I'll get reply from someone saying I have ____ rom and it's great, but you have to realize you can pull up threads where 10 other people have issues using it.
     

    Advertisement
  2. tsipa

    tsipa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    636
    Likes Received:
    111
    I have been running the Fresh rom since .2, I am now running .5.3. I haven't experienced any issues but I always do a wipe before flashing a custom rom.
     
  3. Biggest Fro

    Biggest Fro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    17
    In the newest version of Fresh, everything works.

    The only thing that was having a slight issue with .5.3 is Qik, but I think that has been resolved, and if not, it will be soon.

    Here's a list of the reported bugs for Fresh.
    View Issues - MantisBT
    As you can see, all reported bugs except the Qik one have been fixed.
     
  4. tjwoo

    tjwoo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    50
    In many instances, issues pop up from users failing to follow the dev's directions correctly as such as , not updating radio, not completely wiping before flash etc.
     
  5. Aaron91RS

    Aaron91RS Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    5
    OK some newbie questions

    Does fresh 5.3 keep senseUI?
    If I just took the EVO out of the box do I need to do a backup since I have nothing of my settings on the phone to lose
    Do I need to do a wipe on an EVO just out of the box.
     
  6. talz13

    talz13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    1
    What happens if you do the wipe correctly, then restore a titanium backup? I backup my apps + system settings since I want to retain my SMS and call log, etc. Does restoring this affect the things that doing a data wipe is supposed to clear up?
     
  7. wuclan48

    wuclan48 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    9
    No, you'll be good. I've been using Fresh since 0.3 and I've had zero issues with that or the new release. They are the most complete Roms out there. Smooth as silk, like it came from the factory that way.
     
  8. tsipa

    tsipa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    636
    Likes Received:
    111
    Yes it keeps sense... I'm not sure about the wipe

    You should do a nand backup before you flash any rom just in case something goes wrong and you need to restore
     
  9. v01rider

    v01rider Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    985
    Likes Received:
    169
    +1
     
  10. bernechad

    bernechad Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    14
    EXACTLY!

    I've been running custom roms on phones for years and whenever somebody has a problem, it almost always boils down to them trying to skip a step or not follow the directions.
     

Share This Page

Loading...