Do I need a Gmail account for contacts?Support


Last Updated:

  1. Smileyguy3000

    Smileyguy3000 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do I need a gmail account to use contacts "offline" on this phone? I just want to be able to use contacts on my phone.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Matenrou

    Matenrou Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    5
    I don't think so, but to be able to restore them after a factory data reset or if you buy another android phone. You need to have had them synced to your gmail account.
     
  3. Andronix

    Andronix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    676
    Likes Received:
    16
    not true. there are apps that can import and export contacts w/o gmail sync. vcard io.
     
  4. inFECT

    inFECT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    69
    but to use the market you need a gmail account ;-)

    anyways.. an android phone without a google account is like riding a quad with two wheels.
     
  5. atbeyi

    atbeyi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    9
    inFect: there are two types of android phones one is Google Based the other one is OHA based.

    but you are right an android phone without a google account and internet access is worthless
     
  6. wallysh

    wallysh Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0

    That's very true. Google is the bread and butter for android.
     
  7. angeamon

    angeamon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    3
    yeah, its true that v need gmail acnt to use market. However there are different ways by which we can download apps.

    For eg one way to do so is:
    download the .apk file from net onto pc, transfer onto phone's sdcard n install it. :)

    If you just wanted to do tat, then u should have just bought a non android phone :)

    btw, i totally agree with this :
     
  8. Smileyguy3000

    Smileyguy3000 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes I see the point of the net being vital to the experience of an Adnroid phone. I sort of bought it by accident - well not knowing what was involved.

    I've learnt to set things up and turn off auto synching and stuff, as my only objection was the cost of data on my plan.

    I'll have lots of trips to McDonald's for free wifi in the meantime!!!
     
  9. atbeyi

    atbeyi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    9
    if you are curious about your data plan you may disable your apn settings so no data can be used.
     
  10. Smileyguy3000

    Smileyguy3000 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeh I use Quicksettings for that:)

    and disable auto synching too.

    At the end of my phone bill month I will synch and get 100 apps if I am under my cap!
     
  11. atbeyi

    atbeyi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    9
    what is you quota for a month?
     
  12. Smileyguy3000

    Smileyguy3000 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    $300 worth of calls, sms and data for $20 but data costs 5c for 10kb. That's $5 for 1 MB! with TPG

    My calls cary from time to time.
     
  13. atbeyi

    atbeyi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    9
    300 us $ ?

    if so why don't you use a voip account?

    its too much..
     
  14. Smileyguy3000

    Smileyguy3000 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry it's Australian dollars.

    I also have a fixed home line and internet connections are not the best in my area (unless you are paying bigger$$$) so I don't trust VOIP yet.

    I think Australia is a bit of a world laughing stock when it comes to broadband access . . .
     
  15. atbeyi

    atbeyi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    9
    do you have internet access at home?

    wired or wireless?
     
  16. Smileyguy3000

    Smileyguy3000 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Have wired but setting up a wlan at homes soon. i actually just bought a wireless router/modem to do this but it won't detect my dsl line signal!!! My other 2 routers do!
     
  17. atbeyi

    atbeyi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    9
    how many routers do you have :)

    well can you use that wireless modem as an access point? if yes, you can use your phone at home with wifi too
     
  18. Smileyguy3000

    Smileyguy3000 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have 2 old modem routers (one was borrowed for testing and never returned!)

    Bought the new one to have wifi access at home for laptop and phone:)
     
  19. Smileyguy3000

    Smileyguy3000 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Where abouts on the sd card do I need to save apk files?

    Do I need to install Android SDK? if NO then How do I install apk's?
     
  20. angeamon

    angeamon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    3
    the apk files can be saved anywhere on the sdcard. usually for ease, its better to create a newfolder called apps and place all the apk files there , but thats just me. . .

    Then you will have to use a file explorer to explore the sdcard and finally just click on the apk file , use the option "open with app manager" and install the apk file :)
     
  21. Smileyguy3000

    Smileyguy3000 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks. Can you recommend a free "adequate" file explorer?
     
  22. informale

    informale Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    704
    Likes Received:
    33
    Astro
     
  23. Smileyguy3000

    Smileyguy3000 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    just installed it and it looks great!

    only 3 days left on beta though! anyone know what's gonna happen after 3 days?
     
  24. Smileyguy3000

    Smileyguy3000 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    AND do most all or file managers give you the options top open apt files with the right installer? Ths is like Fila Association in Windows I am guessing.
     
  25. angeamon

    angeamon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    3
    yeah, almost all the file explorers out there allow u to open the .apk files with the installer. . . .

    Btw,
    Astro did give me this warning when i opened it .. . dunno wat ll happen after 3 days :) but no worries, there are other file explorers out there !!!!
     

Share This Page

Loading...