Do I need to un-root to install OTA Froyo Upgrade?


Last Updated:

  1. zacelliott

    zacelliott Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I rooted my Incredible using UnRevoked, and now i'm hearing that you have to unroot it to get the OTA upgrade to Froyo? Is this true? And if so how do I go about unrooting it?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Vaseline Smith

    Vaseline Smith Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    49
    Just go install the leak for this OTA im already running it.
     
  3. fillyo

    fillyo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    9
    No, if all else is stock. You will lose root though.
     
  4. brettd03

    brettd03 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Im seeing conflicting reports of this...some say u need to unroot, some say you dont.

    I understand that I will lose root, but I have S-off...i assume i will be able to root again after OTA.

    My question is, do I need to unroot to get OTA?
     
  5. 0tter

    0tter Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    15
    From all the reading I've done, it seems the consensus is that no, you don't need to unroot. Also, like you said, while the OTA will take away root, if you are set S-off, then you should be able to get root back.

    Personally, I decided to not even bother worrying about it and just installed the pre-rooted version of the OTA leak.
     
  6. disciplined

    disciplined Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    8
    I have the same concern. I have rooted my phone with unrevoked, but did not install the leaked antenna/720p OTA. Now that the OTA is being pushed to me (yes I am getting the message to upgrade to 2.2) I am not sure if I need to go back to stock first.

    Did anyone try installing the official 2.2 OTA on top of the unrevoked 2.1 root without the antenna leak?
     
  7. lafester

    lafester Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    88
    I think the consensus actually is that you do in fact need to UNROOT in order to receive ota. You do not need to have s-on which may be where the confusion is. These are two different things and each have a different effect on your phone.
     
  8. lafester

    lafester Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    88
    let us know if you are able to install while rooted :)
     
  9. crimton

    crimton Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,055
    Likes Received:
    180
    from what i understand its the custom recovery that is what prevents the ota. and almost everyone who has root, has clockworkmod recovery. so if you have a custom recovery, for making nandroid backups and such, i think you need to unroot. thats what i'm doing, as i type this.
     
  10. lafester

    lafester Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    88
    yes clockwork basically is root along with busybox (whatever that is) and the superuser app.

    the ota checks to make sure you have stock recovery (no clockwork) as far as we know but i haven't seen any confirmation yet.
     
  11. jasperwill

    jasperwill Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    27
    he says his phone was rooted using unrevoked. doesnt that mean that he has the clockworks recovery?
    he also says that he is gettting th update message. that says to me that the OTA doesnt check for clockworks.
     
  12. ACD168

    ACD168 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,885
    Likes Received:
    162
    was rooted, could mean he was rooted with clockwork and now has stock recovery, also.
     
  13. jasperwill

    jasperwill Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    27
    HEY OP, can you tell us if you are currently rooted and are getting the update notification. do you have clockworks still?
    and when you have completed the update can you give us a quick rundown of what you have before and afterwards?
    clockworks, root permissions, homescreen setup, s-on or s-off.
    whatever your able to give us would be great ! :)
    thanks!
     
  14. lafester

    lafester Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    88
    just because you receive notification does not mean it will install.
    it would be nice if disciplined would update us on how it went.
     

Share This Page

Loading...