1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

Do Not Disturb Feature?


Last Updated:

  1. 2euro

    2euro Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hey tasker gurus. I was wondering if you can help me out with my current task. It's not working properly. Currently its sending everyone to voicemail no matter what for my Do Not Disturb profile.

    What I want
    A "Do Not Disturb" feature similar to iPhone. Where if on, sends the caller to VM unless you are in my starred list.

    My Tasker settings. I noticed 9 and 10 are reversed. I've fixed that.
    [​IMG]

    Do Not Disturb end
    [​IMG]

    Widget icon button
    [​IMG]
     

    Advertisement
  2. D-U-R-X

    D-U-R-X turbo drinker Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    Messages:
    16,881
    Likes Received:
    7,191
    Sounds like it would be a useful feature :)
     
  3. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,302
    Totally different approach to what I did. I simply turned the volume down, then had a task triggered by a contact calling me that turned the volume up.

    Wouldn't know how to start with voicemail though.
     
  4. bberryhill0

    bberryhill0 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,606
    Likes Received:
    411
    You have %CNUM in your context. That will always match the incoming number because it is the incoming number.

    The Contacts action shows a list of contacts.

    * This might help:
    http://tasker.wikidot.com/block-calls
     
  5. 2euro

    2euro Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    2
    Still no luck...

    Anyone with more tasker experience care to add a how to?
     
  6. bberryhill0

    bberryhill0 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,606
    Likes Received:
    411
    How many numbers do you want to let through?
     
  7. 2euro

    2euro Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    2
  8. bberryhill0

    bberryhill0 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,606
    Likes Received:
    411
    You could write a profile for each one.
     
  9. 2euro

    2euro Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    2
    So, I've decided to go this route until I find a better option for turning on/off the "Do Not Disturb" feature.

    When ON if a call comes in and they are not in my favorites list it will go straight to voicemail. Call Block basically has an EndCall task. To turn on unfortunately you have to open up tasker and click on the check. otherwise its got the red circle. For some reason I cannot create a widget icon on the desktop for an on/off method if its setup as a profile.
    [​IMG]
     
  10. bberryhill0

    bberryhill0 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,606
    Likes Received:
    411
    Widgets activate tasks so you could write a task that keeps the state (on or off) of the call blocker and switches it.
     
  11. 2euro

    2euro Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    2
    I'm scratching my head on this... what would be the option to check for state under task?
     
  12. bberryhill0

    bberryhill0 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,606
    Likes Received:
    411
    A variable that the new task maintains to keep track of whether the call blocker is on or off. Then use action Tasker> Profile Status to switch your profile on or off.
     
  13. 2euro

    2euro Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    2
    Awesome!! Thanks, bberryhill0! I got it working. I'll post my profile later if anyone is interested in the same feature.
     
    bberryhill0 likes this.
  14. 2euro

    2euro Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    2
    Here's the task I had created. Once you create this task you can then just create a widget to place on your main screen for the on/off switch. Also, you'll need to set up the profile on post #9 to accompany this.

    The set tasker icon basically puts a lock icon on the notification bar. This is so that I know if the DnD is turned on or off. ;)
    [​IMG]
     
  15. 2euro

    2euro Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    2
    and... to make things more easier... I've included the profile and task xmls.

    Dropbox...
    Task - DnD (you may have to rename to DND.tsk.xml)
    Profile - Block Calls (you may have to rename to Block_Calls.prf.xml)
     
  16. bberryhill0

    bberryhill0 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2,606
    Likes Received:
    411
    If you use Else on line 7 you don't need the Goto on line 6 or the Stop on line 12.
     
  17. 2euro

    2euro Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    2
    good looking out! :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...