Do only some apps use WiFi?Support


Last Updated:

  1. jtpryan

    jtpryan Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yesterday I was at a friends house where there is absolutely no cell coverage. He asked me to check the weather so I connected to his WiFi and tried both the WeatherBug and The Weather Channel apps. Both returned no data errors. We were all about to eat dinner so I didn't bother checking anything else.

    Do only "native" apps use WiFi, or was something else wrong? This is a Droid 1.
     

    Advertisement
  2. NightAngel79

    NightAngel79 Bounty Hunter Administrator Moderator

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    22,331
    Likes Received:
    7,598
    All apps should work as normal on wifI. Would suggest making sure that internet was working to be sure it wasn't a problem with the router or your phone. Have you used wifI before?
     
  3. jtpryan

    jtpryan Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yes, their internet connection was fine, and in fact connected with their laptop over wireless. I was the one that set this network up at their house so I know the password, etc. I had an IP address in their scope, not apps would not see anything.

    -Jim
     
  4. NightAngel79

    NightAngel79 Bounty Hunter Administrator Moderator

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    22,331
    Likes Received:
    7,598
    Can you connect to other wifi spots? Check firmware on router?
     
  5. jtpryan

    jtpryan Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yes, I see no problem with the connection. I have a couple of apps that report it being solid. I can run ipconfig and I have an address. But the apps just don't seem to use it.

    -Jim
     
  6. Palmetto Fellow

    Palmetto Fellow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,022
    Likes Received:
    323
    You said you ran out of time for extensive testing.

    I would try to simply surf/browse to see if that works. If you phone is connecting properly to the WiFi and broswing data works...it seems that something else is wrong...

    I suspect however that even browsing wouldn't work...and I doubt the browser would be a non-WiFi app...

    When you have more time...do all sorts of tests.
     
    NightAngel79 likes this.
  7. NightAngel79

    NightAngel79 Bounty Hunter Administrator Moderator

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    22,331
    Likes Received:
    7,598
    Gonna move this to the Droid 1 support section to see if you get more responses...... almost sure this has nothing to do with the apps. I think it is a router or phone problem. If you disagree or through testing find out different then PM me or any other mod/guide to have your thread moved to the best place.

    Thanks
     

Share This Page

Loading...