do programs keep running in background? how to stop all.Support


Last Updated:

  1. Atroa

    Atroa Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    like in windows mobile , and even on windows in general.. if u exit out of programs (for the android on many apps etc. u just gotta hit the back button, not knowing if the program is still running or not) sometimes they keep running and u can go to your task manager or whatever and stop all programs.. thus keeping the processing speed of your machine smooth and on point. whats the story with android based machines? i like my stuff running the best of its ability so this seemed to be a pretty proper qustion for this forum.

    thanks

    Alex
     

    Advertisement
  2. drustvold

    drustvold Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    6
    The way the Android OS handles programs is pretty neat.

    When you leave a program it records its state. Such as, what it was doing, if you typed anything, and even where you were at.

    It then keeps this in active memory until another active program comes along and needs the memory/processor. At that point Android automatically shuts down the furthest from use program.

    When you go back to that program it starts again, loads the save state and it looks like it never shut down, even though it may have.

    Heres a video that shows how that works.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fL6gSd4ugSI
     
  3. Dimath

    Dimath Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    The knowlage can be taken from here - your "back" button is actually the "close application" button :)
     
  4. onthefence

    onthefence Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    15
    for what it's worth, i noticed when i power cycle the phone it clears the "app memory," not that you would want to do that often anyway.
     
  5. Atroa

    Atroa Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Drustvold, that was a Very VVVVERRY good video that answers the exact question i had, thank you for finding this video and thanks Dimath and OnTheFence as well for their input as well.

    Alex
     
  6. C-Rex

    C-Rex Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    second that, thanks!
     
  7. willamlholla

    willamlholla Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yea 2 min into it my question was asnwered ... we no want resouce hogg lol
     
  8. MarvinAndroid

    MarvinAndroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    22
    Thanks drustvold... that was good info... and something that has been bugging me since I got my G1. It's interesting to see how Android handles that.
     
  9. punkzanyj

    punkzanyj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1,012
    Likes Received:
    72
    I shut mine off once a day, usually while I'm eating, and turn it back afterwards.

    I think it helps.
     
  10. rhcpcjg

    rhcpcjg Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    i switched from an iphone to the g1 and i love the g1's multi tasking capabilities, Cant wait for the next android devices..
     
  11. HTC

    HTC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    7
    the more you know :)
     
  12. joedigital

    joedigital New Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just got an Incredible...

    Is there a gesture to bring up the list of running apps from which I can select the one I want or is it always required to touch Home then run the app?
     
  13. wbiggers

    wbiggers New Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    To see the running aps, press and hold the home key/button. (Do you still say 'press' when it is a touch screen??? - how about ... touch and hold on the home icon.
     

Share This Page

Loading...