• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Do you believe these stories?

Mdraej99

Android Enthusiast
May 22, 2012
Maryland
We have all seen the first few phones that were damaged before Samsung did the voluntary recall. All were in houses.. Nothing damaged but the phone. The phones didn't get any worse but since the news of the recall and grand ideas of possible payday it seems like the damage caused by the same phones has gotten 100 times worse! Or did I miss something?

Seems to me that sufficient word has been put out about the Note 7's hazards, and it's realistic to think that Samsung would deny any future damage claims since users have been advised to turn off their phones and stop using them. If users continue to use them, they assume the risk. I'm not a lawyer, of course, but Samsung would have a compelling defense.

Upvote 0
I'm pretty sure that a "recall" involves removing the defective product from the public to ensure that minimal safety standards are met.

Samsung issued a "voluntary" recall, which I don't believe negates any responsibility on their part. Even the now "mandatory" recall requires that the manufacturer remove the defective product, or fix it.

I'm no lawyer, but I have a feeling there are going to be tidal waves lawsuits pending given how poorly this entire ordeal has been managed.

Eg. A home where the only phone is their n7. If they turn it off and an emergency occurs they are left without any means of altering anybody. This is potentially far worse than the phone starting on fire.

I don't know why Samsung didn't just take the reigns and just run down the activated IMEI's and send out replacements direct. Or better yet, push a firmware upgrade that regulates battery temperature effectively.

Reactions: Mdraej99
Upvote 0
As it turns out, a Note 7 did not explode in a 6-year-old's hands. It wasn't a Note 7... it was a Core Prime! :eek: