Do you have a tip/trick for ICS? Post it here.Tips


Last Updated:

  1. gripweed

    gripweed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    9
    Is there anyway to customize the lock screen? Like switch th camera to another function or add a third function?
     

    Advertisement
  2. photogman

    photogman Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    14
    Is there a way to rename your images in gallery?

    When your screen times out, is the only way to get back to active screen by just clicking the on switch on right side of phone?

    Also, is there a way to increase the screen viewing time before it times out?
     
  3. xGalaxyNexusx

    xGalaxyNexusx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    215
    I don't believe there is another way of doing other than the power button, sorry.

    But I think to increase the screen viewing time you'd just have to adjust how long before the device sleeps. Do that by:

    Pull down the notifications bar and select the setting icon > select Display > select Sleep > change to a maximum of 10 minutes.

    You can also make it so that it never sleeps while on the charger:

    Settings > Developer Options > check Stay Awake
     
    photogman likes this.
  4. xGalaxyNexusx

    xGalaxyNexusx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    215
    Has anyone noticed how much of a difference having a live wallpaper compared to a still has on the battery? I'm thinking that with this powerful of a screen, it'd have to be a significant difference, however my battery life has been tremendous (at least 12 hours with moderate use and live wallpaper). Anyone feel like testing it out, haha... I'm lazy but would love to hear the results.
     
  5. tjh011

    tjh011 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2011
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    26
    Is there a way to set your voicemail password in the phone so that it inputs it automatically when you call?
     
  6. photogman

    photogman Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    14
    Is there a way to delete mass emails at one time in gmail?
     
  7. Travisimo

    Travisimo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    455
    Likes Received:
    88
    Live wallpapers will only use battery more quickly when you have the screen on. So the affect on battery life will be dependent on how much you use the phone with the screen on. When the screen is off, or when you are talking on the phone, the live wallpaper does not reduce battery life. Also, the demands of each live wallpaper are different, so battery reduction can vary from wallpaper to wallpaper.
     
  8. xGalaxyNexusx

    xGalaxyNexusx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    215
    Oh, and I just saw something I wanted to mention. I'm not sure how long VZW has been doing this, but I purchased a car charger for my Nexus when I was there and I think it's AWESOME that it has a USB port to charge two phones at once. I usually get my accessories on eBay from China, so I guess this could be a very old upgrade, but I wasn't aware this had been done. Just thought it was cool, so I wanted to make sure everyone knew about it incase that would solve one of their common dilemmas!
     
    NexusTootsie and GalaxyNexus like this.
  9. xGalaxyNexusx

    xGalaxyNexusx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    215
    Other than going and checking the box beside each one? I don't think so...
     
    GalaxyNexus likes this.
  10. photogman

    photogman Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    14
    Can't find the command that allows you to delete forever spam messages or empty trash?? Any help would be appreciated.
     
    GalaxyNexus likes this.
  11. photogman

    photogman Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    14

    Found it myself....just hold down email message and it says it is selected and then touch any other message you want to delete and then touch the trash can. I don't have the box next to my email messages that you refer to.
     
    acer1, Mr. Link and GalaxyNexus like this.
  12. xGalaxyNexusx

    xGalaxyNexusx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    215
    Yeah, they don't make it easy, do they?

    Aha...cool thanks for the tip!
     
    GalaxyNexus likes this.
  13. Paul1201

    Paul1201 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    44
    Dialer>Phone tab>3 dot menu button in the upper right>Settings>Voicemail settings>Voicemail number
     
    gapi and Bogeyjoker like this.
  14. xGalaxyNexusx

    xGalaxyNexusx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    215
    You don't have these boxes??
    Screenshot_2011-12-18-00-00-14.jpg
     
  15. tarponbeach

    tarponbeach Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    68
    Widget Locker, in the market.
     

    Attached Files:

  16. tjh011

    tjh011 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2011
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    26
    I saw that but when I enter it just after the *86####, and call, it says the feature update cant be completed.

    How do you enter it?

    Edit:

    Nevermind I found it. After the *86, press the *# key and they is a button for pause which inserts a comma, and then enter your pin. It works for me with just one comma.
     
    eldealero likes this.
  17. Shades.549

    Shades.549 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    109
    That's the one I was about to add, so I have been Ninja'd again:), but I will add a screen shot. Although I did just find out that the screen shots are *.png fil
     

    Attached Files:

    GalaxyNexus likes this.
  18. Shades.549

    Shades.549 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    109
    You could long press the app to pull up the app info selector than once you are in the app info page you could force close it if you are concerned.
     
  19. Shades.549

    Shades.549 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    109
    I just use Google Voice and assign it to handle all my Voicemail, that way it shows up in the notification bar, I can read the transcript of the voicemail as well listen to it through the Google Voice app, and can even have the information emailed to me as well.
    Of course this assumes that you are talking about a U.S. account.

    I am not sure if this works on a smart phone for dialing into the carriers actual voicemail system but I know that when I had a feature phone you could enter a character into a phone number to create a pause, I think it was a comma but it's been years so that could be wrong, so you could enter a number for voicemail as xxx-xxx-xxxx,,code and it would dial the number then pause a few seconds and then enter in the code.
     
  20. Dubbin1

    Dubbin1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,525
    Likes Received:
    969
    Go into your phone settings
    Voicemail Settings
    Voicemail Number
    Edit the number to say *86,,yourpassword#
    Click OK
     
    ncosta01, brhermon, fed123 and 3 others like this.
  21. mistermojorizi

    mistermojorizi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    500
    Likes Received:
    178
    i dunno if this was a quirk on my phone, but my password is 7 numbers, and it wasn't working in that format, because apparently the tones were being sent to quickly to register. i added another , in the middle, and it works now.
     
  22. jclake

    jclake Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    4
    HTC cable should work. With your phone connected to your PC, have Windows search for updates. When I did this Windows recommended as an optional update a new driver for my Samsung removable device. I installed this driver and my PC to Galaxy Nexus connection works much better. I have Windows vista on my PC.
     
  23. jclake

    jclake Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    4
    Where is this setting in Light Flow. Do you have the paid version?
     
  24. edhgreatone

    edhgreatone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    6
    Came from iphone 4 then to razr and now to nexus and loving it!

    For those of you that closely monitor your battery this is the first android device ive used that doesnt count the battery percentage in 10 digit intervals so if your using battery app that puts the battery percebtage in the status bar like "battery status" it wont show 30% when your really at say 37%

    Coming from gingerbread i typically clear out my.notifications from the status bar pull down ... i noticed in ICS you can swipe left and right to clear them out --- more fun :)

    Resizing widgets --- if the widget is compatible you can do a hold press and resize it wider or longer (very similiar to launcher pros paid version) this works with beautiful widgets

    Anybody else finding it annoying swiping hoirzontally through app drawer and pictures? Trying to get over this hurdle
     
  25. atrain311

    atrain311 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,414
    Likes Received:
    426
    I'm very sorry if this has been asked already, but does anyone know how to get light flow to allow other apps to use the light function? I'm loving light flow, but want my Astrid Task app to also blink. Any work around? As always, thank you?
     

Share This Page

Loading...