Do you leave your GPS on?


Last Updated:

  1. quixand

    quixand Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    13
    Just installed 2.0.1, and there was supposed to be a fix that caused the GPS to be running all the time if enabled.

    So since I got the phone, I've had it turned off, which is a huge PITA because anytime I need it, I have to go manually turn it on then off.

    Seems the update to 2.0.1 didn't fix anything in that regard.
    I enabled the GPS, and it just sits there, draining my battery running non-stop.

    Anyone else having this problem?
    I'd like to be able to leave it on, and since I'm not requesting to use it, it shouldn't be active.
     

    Advertisement
  2. square

    square Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    506
    Likes Received:
    24
    mine is enabled, but only in use if i am using something that needs it. you have the satellite icon in your notification bar all the time?
     
  3. resno

    resno Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    I believe the update fixed the gps icon, which stayed on even when not being used.
     
  4. quixand

    quixand Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    13
    Yes.

    If I enabled it through the phone settings to "Use GPS Location"...if I turn the screen off, and come back 2 mins later, the GPS icon is active and flashing in the tray, and never stops until I manually switch it off in the options.

    Resno, I am using 2.0.1, and that isn't the case.
     
  5. square

    square Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    506
    Likes Received:
    24
    do you have weather apps or something using it? i haven't had the problem with 2.0 or 2.0.1
     
  6. BiGMERF

    BiGMERF Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,079
    Likes Received:
    267
    i usually leave mines on, mostly because i forget to turn it off.. but when i do remember off it goes till i need it
     
  7. TheOldFart

    TheOldFart Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't know if all GPS units work the same, but what you want would be a problem with my Garmin GPS that I use when hiking or mountain biking. If it were not active while I was changing locations, it would have to relocate the satellites when I wanted it to become active. There would be a delay while it was doing that. Again, I don't know if this would be the same for the GPS in the Droid.
     
  8. quixand

    quixand Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    13
    I use Beautiful Widgets....namely Beautiful Home.
    The author swears up and down it's not his app causing this.

    I even have the option to use geo location turned OFF.

    So no. It couldn't be my clock/weather app.
     
  9. square

    square Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    506
    Likes Received:
    24

    i use that too...with geolocation turned on.
     
  10. quixand

    quixand Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    13
    Interesting.

    Is it doing that because I am indoors? Should it not time out quickly and not sit there for like an hour?
     
  11. square

    square Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    506
    Likes Received:
    24
    what are your running apps? something is accessing it.
     
  12. cybercruiser

    cybercruiser Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    29
    Nope, I use the power control widget to only leave on what I need at the moment.
     
  13. quixand

    quixand Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    13
    Via advanced task killer.

    The only thing ever running is:

    Corporate Calendar
    Google Voice

    That's it.
     
  14. colnago

    colnago Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3,091
    Likes Received:
    218
    I left my GPS in an "enabled" (i.e.-available for use when needed by app), and it was only "active" (i.e.-in use and drawing charge from battery and visible in notification bar) when things like "assisted google search" and "weather" apps were active.

    Leaving GPS "enabled" via the power widget, did not tax battery, per native power monitor. GPS icon may stay visible in the notification bar if its not using 3G to help pin point location while indoors, and strugglig to find a lock, and something like "google search" is trying to use it.
     
  15. krichek

    krichek Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    492
    Likes Received:
    41
    I leave mine on continuously and use beautiful widgets with the location thing enabled. Mine comes on every couple of hours briefly, perhaps a bit longer when I'm inside but nothing that I think is a long time. The only time I've seen it on continuously was when I was using the car dock and actively navigating.
     
  16. gotwillk

    gotwillk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    12
    wait... i was lead to believe that if you turn on gps, even when apps aren't using it, it will drain battery. this is not true? so if i turn on gps but i don't have any apps or widgets that are curently using the gps, this won't drain my battery?
     
  17. square

    square Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    506
    Likes Received:
    24
    correct. don't believe every battery myth you hear.
     
  18. gotwillk

    gotwillk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    12
    interesting. i will be testing this out for the rest of the day and see if it actually holds true for me. thanks!
     
  19. colnago

    colnago Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3,091
    Likes Received:
    218

    Again, you have to define your terms.

    Enabled - GPS is allowed to be used by an application "when needed" on an "as-needed" basis. This can be done in the phone's settings, or power widget(s). GPS is not draining power.

    Active - GPS icon is visible in tray, being used by an app, and draining power. Verification done in Phone's global settings/system/battery status.
     
  20. quixand

    quixand Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    13
    So is there a way to like...oh I dunno...sync your GPS satelittes or something?

    Maybe mines lost calibration or some junk.
     
  21. dubbsix

    dubbsix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    6
    I am still running 2.0 and leave my GPS on all the time. My battery life is great and the GPS icon goes away when i close apps that rely on it. My camera works great..autofocus and all and no hard resets.. I do have the echo problem though :)
     
  22. gotwillk

    gotwillk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    12
    ok now what about the WIFI setting though? does it constantly scan for open networks when you leave the setting "on"? if it does, will that constant scanning drain battery? cuz i can see in the wifi settings, under wifi networks, new connecitons are being detected constantly, switching in and out. i dont want to be walking around in the streets and its constantly scanning and detecting open networks. unless it doesnt drain battery of course.
     
  23. square

    square Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    506
    Likes Received:
    24
    i leave wifi off, except for when i'm home and actually use it.
     
  24. GorillaTheHutt

    GorillaTheHutt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    40
    i also don't have a problem with it draining battery all the time, even though i leave it on (2.0).

    i know it's cliche, but could it be your task killer causing it? perhaps some app fires up GPS, then the task killer kills it, but it doesn't exit gracefully, causing the GPS to remain on. personally, i just don't trust those task killer apps at all.

    EDIT: and as far as losing the satellite calibration, with the Droid (and most cell phones) satellite calibration is done over the cellular network (aGPS), although once it's calibrated it will then try to receive data from the satellites if it is being actively used.
     

Share This Page

Loading...