Do you need data plan for GPS to work?


Last Updated:

  1. mikoo

    mikoo Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
    Got my Behold II 2 weeks back but I do not have data plan. Slowly exploring my 1st antroid phone and enjoying.

    I tried to use GPS but it won't work; it says, it's not available.

    Do I need data plan for it to work? Just wondering.

    -mikoo
     

    Advertisement
  2. behold_this

    behold_this Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,419
    Likes Received:
    243
    Short answer is yes with google maps you need data plan or I guess you could use wifi but not really on the go.
     
  3. inaz4sun

    inaz4sun Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    8
    Depends what app you want to use.
     
  4. 2FR35H

    2FR35H Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,224
    Likes Received:
    84
    Only need a wifi connection because unfortunately they don't work like regular GPS does android uses internet to do it.
     
  5. Mastermind278

    Mastermind278 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    283
    Likes Received:
    97
    Yes you can. There are navsat programs available on the market which save the maps onto your SD card such as CoPilot and Igo.
     
  6. 2FR35H

    2FR35H Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,224
    Likes Received:
    84
    Really? I did not know that... but they do cost by the month right?
     
  7. mindoculus

    mindoculus Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    1
    The pre-loaded navsat app on the Behold II does charge a monthly fee.

    On a related note, you can download maps to your fone's memory. While not GPS,
    they do help with orientation if you are not lost and simply need some assistance
    locating a particular street or town.
     
  8. 2FR35H

    2FR35H Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,224
    Likes Received:
    84
    Oh... yeah thats right I actually used that one before but I do remember that was used over data plan...
     
  9. ImABoss

    ImABoss Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    10
    I think you can use telenav without a data plan but there is a $9.99 a month fee.
     
  10. TheKrell

    TheKrell Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    5
    How about MapDroyd? (Downloading it now for free via WiFi).
     
  11. mindoculus

    mindoculus Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    1
    Mapdroyd is over 2 Gigs if you download all the maps.
     

Share This Page

Loading...