Do you use Handcent?


Last Updated:

  1. getlooks

    getlooks Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    3
    Do you use Handcent? I love it, but how do you turn off the stock sms? I am getting dup texts and have to delete in two spots.
     

    Advertisement
  2. ggt1_02

    ggt1_02 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    18
    I used to use it, but for reasons unknown since flashing froyo handcent disables the notification sounds on gtalk, gmail, etc. If you are rooted you can use titanium backup to freeze the stock sms app.
     
  3. seanatsb

    seanatsb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    25
    Much simpler solution. Just turn off notifications settings on the stock app. Under settings of the stock app, you should be able to set the notification tone to "none" or "silent", and their should be another option to disable notification icons in the status bar.

    I use handcent and my Gtalk and all other apps with notifications all function properly and I'm running EB01/SC2.4/Voodoo
     
  4. karib

    karib Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    30
    I second turning off notifications in the stock app. I also use handcent without issues and luv it! Very customizable with colors and such, very nice.
     
  5. Blue218

    Blue218 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    697
    Likes Received:
    81
    Do I use a handbrake? Only if I am riding a motorcycle....but I also use the foot brake to activate the rear brakes.
    [​IMG]
     
  6. ggt1_02

    ggt1_02 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    18
    I'm quite sure my issues are user induced. Just have not figured it out yet.
     
  7. saps

    saps Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    5,092
    Likes Received:
    504
    Big handcent fan here
     
  8. nunyazz

    nunyazz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    90
    +1 Love it
     
  9. nklenchik

    nklenchik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    590
    Likes Received:
    53
    Ever since handcent I havent looked back :p
     
  10. getlooks

    getlooks Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    3
    Thanks, but I guess I would need to open my old sms to delete the msgs, otherwise they would be stored there.


     
  11. grin0048

    grin0048 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    35
    When you delete a message from one, it gets deleted in the other. The text messages themselves get stored in /dbdata/databases/com.android.providers.telephony/mmssms.db...both apps simply access that database to populate the text message list.
     
    Nymblz likes this.
  12. styxfire

    styxfire Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    If I download/install the Handset app, can I cancel the messaging feature from my carrier and still use send/receive texts via Handcent?

    Currently my carrier charges $5 for 200 msgs, or $20 for unlimited msgs.
     

Share This Page

Loading...