Does Gorilla glass really work?

Last Updated:

1. jetcitydevices

jetcitydevices Member This Topic's Starter

I've been Googling around trying to find some objective information on Gorilla glass with no luck. It's either Corning's promotional material on the subject raving about how you'll never break your phone again, or someone that bought a Droid, cracked it, and they are screaming about how much it sucks.

What I'd like to find is some kind of reliable source that has done a study on it. I studied engineering and, from what I remember, we were taught that the harder something was the more brittle it would be. Of course, that was 15 years ago and there's a good chance I'm remembering it wrong.

Does anyone know for sure? Have a source you can point me at?

Thanks.

Advertisement
  2. Steven58

Steven58 Reformed PH VIP Member

as i understand gorilla glass is not scratch proof, it is scratch resistant. Stuff happens, just not as much and damages aren't as bad as saaaay the cracks in the iPhone.

3. Super_Six_Two

Super_Six_Two Well-Known Member

My friend has a Droid 1 and treats it pretty badly and it still has no scratches on the screen. I prefer a screen protector myself.

I haven't seen anything formal about it. They hardly even advertise that the phones have it.

4. Genetic_Bloom

Genetic_Bloom Well-Known Member

My Droid screen is scratched so it won't protect you from scratches. It is resistant though so the scratches won't appear as deep or as easily as they would on standard glass.

5. mikeymop

mikeymop Well-Known Member

I dont know about the gorilla glass on the droid. but the gorilla glass on my ipod nano is invincible. it's stronger then the metal casing it's built in. It holds up to the metal headphones that are in my pocket with the screen. Apple changed the material with the iphone 4, I'd love to know what it is that is equipped in the nano

6. TozyJay

TozyJay Well-Known Member

Gorilla Glass is definitely strong, but not supernaturally so. :)